Licensing Requirements for HVAC Technicians and Mechanics

Most of the construction industries don’t require you to hold more than one card to work in it.

This doesn’t apply to the HVAC field though.

If you want to succeed in the industry, you need to get a number of certifications.

It’s not mandatory, but it can surely put you above the competition.

Plus, licensure can be required.

Every employee has to obtain an EPA Section 608 card.

If you are a member of a union, you probably have a journeyman card or are in the process of obtaining it.

You could also hold a NATE certification or HVAC Excellence, or other specialty certifications.

The latter isn’t a requirement and nobody will fire or fine you if you don’t have it.

Here, we are talking about keeping up with state legal requirements to work in the HVAC industry.

A city you work in may also require a municipal license.

Besides, based on the services you perform, you may need additional licenses such as steam license, boiler license, or refrigeration license, and so on, and so forth.

If you plan to work as an independent contractor, you may also need contractor licensing, and all of this can be overwhelming.

Depending on the process adopted in the state you work in, it can be easy and fast or confusing and complicated keeping up with all the state and municipal laws.

In some states, e.g., Delaware, you can obtain a straight HVAC/R Tech license.

It is based on a traditional apprentice, journeyman, master license model.

It is quite common for building industries.

On the other hand, states like Alaska will make you obtain a separate HVAC, plumbing, and electrical licenses.

In other words, licensure can be complicated and you may need some help to sort it out.

We prepared a comprehensive guide for you with all the useful information you may need.

State-By-State Licensing Laws Guide

Alabama

HVAC Technician:

  • No license required.

HVAC Contractor:

  • License Heating and Air Conditioning and/or Commercial Refrigeration Contractor.
  • Issued through Alabama Board of Heating, Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Contractors

The qualifications required for taking the contractor’s examination (one of the following):

  • Apprentice Registration (hold for two years working under the contractor licensed in Heating and Air Conditioning or Commercial Refrigeration).
  • 3000 hours of training on Heating and Air Conditioning or Commercial Refrigeration.
  • A degree obtained through an approved Heating and Air Conditioning or Commercial Refrigeration institution.

When applying for the HVAC Contractor license, a performance bond for $15,000 is required.

Alaska

HVAC Technician:

  • Required certification must be obtained through Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development, Division of Labor Standards & Safety, Mechanical Inspection Section.

Certificate of Fitness for the Trades related to some HVAC industry is needed for:

Plumber Restricted PG (installation of gas and fuel pipes) requirements:

  • 2000 hours of work experience in fuel and gas pipes installation.
  • 4000 hours of work experience in general plumbing.
  • Apprenticeship or training programs can be a substitute for up to 500 hours of experience.
  • A successfully passed exam is required.

HVAC Contractor:

  • The required license must be obtained through Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Division of Labor Standards & Safety, Mechanical Inspection Section.

There are two steps to obtaining a contractor’s license:

  • Having a Mechanical Administrator license or have a Mechanical Administrator on staff to supervise the work.

Types of HVAC-related Mechanical Administrator licenses and requirements:

Heating, Cooling and Process Piping (HCPP) (one of the following qualifications is required):

  • Work experience in heating, cooling, and process piping as a journeyman within four years of the past six years before the application.
  • Work experience in heating, cooling, and process piping at a management position within four years of the six years before the application.
  • Mechanical engineering degree in addition to work experience in heating, cooling, and process piping as a journeyman pipefitter or field engineer.
    Experience counts for one of the three years before the application.
  • State-registered mechanical engineer additionally to experience as a mechanical contractor at a management position.
    Within one of three years before the application.

Residential HVAC (RHVAC):

  • Experience in residential HVAC area as a journeyman within two of four years before the application.

Residential Plumbing and Hydronic Heating (RPHH):

  • Experience as a residential plumber and hydronic heating journeyman for two of four years before the application.

Unlimited Commercial and Industrial Plumbing (UCIP) (one of the following qualifications is required):

  • Experience as a journeyman plumber for four of six years before the application.
  • Experience in plumbing at a management position for four of six years before the application.
  • Mechanical engineer degree plus one year of experience in plumbing as a journeyman or field engineer for three years before the application.
  • State-registered mechanical engineer and experience as a mechanical contractor at a management position for one of three years before the application.

Unlimited HVAC/Sheet Metal (UHVCS) (one of the following qualifications is required):

  • Work experience in HVAC/sheet metal area as a journeyman for four of six years before the application.
  • Work experience in HVAC/sheet metal area at a management position for four of six years before the application.
  • Mechanical engineer degree plus work experience in HVAC/sheet metal area as a journeyman or field engineer for one of three years before the application.
  • State-registered mechanical engineer and experience as a mechanical contractor at a management position for one of three years before the application.

Unlimited Refrigeration (UR) (one of the following qualifications is required):

  • Work experience in refrigeration as a journeyman for two of four years before the application.
  • Certification from an accredited refrigeration training program/vocational school.

The second step to becoming an HVAC contractor involves an application for a Mechanical Contractor registration.

All applicants must have a Mechanical Administrator license or have a Mechanical Administrator on staff before a license can be obtained.

They can perform the work as a mechanical contractor only for the specialty to which an administrator is assigned.

  • The Mechanical Contractor license can be obtained through the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Contractor Licensing Section.

Mechanical Contractor registration requires the following:

  • $10,000 performance bond.
  • Liability insurance certificate ($20,000 property damage, $50,000 individual, $100,000 aggregate).
  • Workers compensation insurance certificate.
  • Business license.
  • Corporations must be registered with the Division of Corporations.
  • Mechanical Administrator license (or having a licensed employee on staff).

Arizona

HVAC Technician:

  • License isn’t required.

HVAC Contractor licenses:

  • Specialty Residential Contractor – AC and Refrigeration, plus Solar category.
  • Specialty Dual License Contractor – AC and Refrigeration, plus Solar and AC and Refrigeration categories.
  • Specialty Commercial Contractor – AC and Refrigeration, plus Solar and AC and Refrigeration categories.

A license can be obtained through the Arizona Registrar of Contractors.

License Requirements:

  • Experience in the HVAC specialty for four years.
    Training or apprenticeship programs can be counted instead of almost two years of work experience.
  • Company name registration through Arizona Corporation Commission (applies to LLC or corporations) or Arizona Secretary of State (for partnership).
  • A successfully passed state examination for your category of licensure.
  • The successfully passed examination in business management.
  • Surety bond.
  • Obtain a worker’s compensation insurance certificate.

Arkansas

HVAC Technician:

  • License isn’t required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Arkansas Department of Health, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Licensing Board.

One of the following classed of the HVAC/R Contractor license is required:

  • Class A – covers the HVAC/R work of unlimited capacity.
  • Class B – covers the work on 15-ton capacity of a cooling system unit, 15 HP refrigeration, and 1 million BTUs per hour of heating systems.
  • Class C – covers servicing and repair of HVAC/R equipment.
  • Class D – covers work only in the sheet metal area.
  • Class E – covers refrigeration work only.

Licensing requirements:

  • Application to the state HVAC/R licensing board for pre-approval.
  • The successfully passed Class A or B examinations.
  • For projects over $20,000, a successfully passed Business Law examination of the state.
  • Work experience in HVAC for two years.

California

HVAC Technician:

  • License isn’t required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the California Department of Consumer Affairs Contractors State License Board.

Required license is Specialty Contractor Class C 20 with the categories:

  • Ventilating and Air Conditioning.
  • Warm Air Heating.

Licensing requirements:

  • Work experience for four years as a journeyman or higher (apprentice or trainee work not included).
  • Education and training can substitute three of the four years of required work experience.
  • The successfully passed licensing examination.
  • The successfully passed California Law and Business examination.
  • The successfully passed asbestos examination.
  • $15,000 performance bond.
  • Obtain and provide the Workers’ Compensation Certificate.

Colorado

HVAC Technician:

  • No HVAC license required.
  • Electrician and plumbing licenses are required.

The licenses can be obtained through the Colorado State Electrical Board and Colorado State Plumbing Board.

Available licenses:

  • Residential Wireman requirements:
  • 4000 hours or two years of experience in electrical construction wiring.
  • Active apprentice license.
  • A successfully passed examination.
  • Journeyman Electrician requirements:
  • 8000 hours or four years of experience in electrical construction wiring, 4000 hours out of 8000 in the industrial or commercial area.
  • Minimum of an active apprentice license.
  • A successfully passed examination.
  • Master Electrician requirements:
  • 2000 hours or one year of experience in electrical installation at a supervising position plus the work experience needed for the journeyman license.
  • Minimum of an active apprentice license.
  • A successfully passed examination.
  • Residential Plumber requirements:
  • 3400 hours or two years of experience in plumbing.
  • A successfully passed examination.
  • Journeyman Plumber requirements:
  • 6800 hours or four years of experience in plumbing.
  • A successfully passed examination.
  • Master Plumber requirements:
  • 8500 hours or five years of experience in plumbing.
  • A successfully passed examination.

In state municipalities the local license can also be required:

  • Steamfitter Journeyman.
  • Boilermaker Journeyman.
  • Gas Service Journeyman.
  • Boiler Operator.
  • Refrigeration Journeyman.
  • Heating and Ventilating Journeyman.
  • Refrigeration Operator.

HVAC Contractor:

State registration can be obtained through the Colorado State Electrical Board and Colorado State Plumbing Board.

Available registrations:

  • Plumbing Contractor requirements:
  • Must be or employ a Master Plumber.
  • Workers compensation certificate and unemployment insurance.
  • Authorization from Secretary of State’s office to conduct business.
  • Water Conditioning Contractor requirements:
  • Must be or employ a Water Conditioning Principal.
  • Workers compensation certificate and unemployment insurance.
  • Authorization from Secretary of State’s office to conduct business.
  • Electrical Contractor requirements:
  • Must be or employ a Master Electrician.
  • Workers compensation certificate and unemployment insurance.
  • Authorization from Secretary of State’s office to conduct business.

Local municipalities can require an HVAC license in addition.

Denver.

A license can be obtained through the Denver Community Planning and Development.

First, one must get a Denver Supervisor Certificate – Mechanical license in one of the following categories:

  • Gas Service.
  • Refrigeration.
  • Hot Water.
  • Steam & Hot Water.
  • Heating and Ventilating.
  • Boilermaker.

Upon obtaining a Denver Supervisor Certificate, or with state Plumbing or Contractor registration, you can obtain a Denver Contractor license.

Colorado Springs also requires the HVAC Contractors to have a license.

Connecticut

HVAC Technician:

A license can be acquired from the Department of Consumer Protection in Connecticut.

Licenses available:

Category B.

  • B-2: Oil Burner and Gas Journeyman (limited).
  • B-4: Oil Burner and Gas Journeyman (limited).

Category D.

  • D-2: Air Conditioning, Warm Air and Refrigeration Journeyman (limited).
  • D-4: Cooling Journeyman (limited).

Category G.

  • G-2: Heating, Piping and Cooling Journeyman (limited).

Category S.

  • S-2: Heating, Piping and Cooling Journeyman (unlimited).
  • S-4: Heating, Cooling and Piping Journeyman (limited).
  • S-6: Hot Water, Heating and Steam Journeyman (limited).
  • S-8: Journeyman (limited).
  • S-10: Heating Cooling Journeyman (limited).

Licensing Requirements:

  • Having a registered apprenticeship or an equivalent experience/education.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Department of Consumer Protection in Connecticut.

Licenses available:

Category B.

  • B-1: Oil Burner and Gas Contractor (limited).
  • B-3: Oil Burner and Gas Contractor (limited).

Category D.

  • D-1: Air Conditioning, Warm Air and Refrigeration Contractor (limited).
  • D-3: Cooling Contractor (limited).

Category G.

  • G-1: Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor (limited).

Category S.

  • S-1: Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor (unlimited).
  • S-3: Heating, Cooling and Piping Contractor (limited).
  • S-5: Hot Water, Heating and Steam Contractor (limited).
  • S-7: Contractor (limited).
  • S-9: Heating Cooling Contractor (limited).

Licensing requirements:

  • Working experience as a licensed journeyman for two years in the specialization equivalent to the perspective license.
  • The successfully passed contractor’s examination.
  • The successfully passed Business and Law examination.

Delaware

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Delaware Division of Professional Regulation, Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Examiners.

The HVACR license with the following levels required:

  • An apprentice must be registered with the Department of Labor of the State of Delaware and a federally-approved program.
  • A journeyman must have (one of the options required):
  • A Journeyman’s Certificate of Completion of a federally-approved apprenticeship (8000 hours or two years of on-the-job training, plus 144 classwork hours for every year of education).

Additionally, two years of working experience under a licensed HVACR Master upon earning the certificate.

  • Seven years of working experience under a licensed HVACR Master and a successfully passed Apprenticeship By-Pass Exam.

A Master must:

  • Be a certified journeyman.
  • Successfully pass the Master HVACR examination.

HVAC Contractor:

The Resident Contractor or Non-Resident Contractor license can be acquired from the Delaware Division of Revenue.

Licensing requirements:

  • Contractor’s performance bond (amount can differ for Residents and Non-Residents).
  • Liability insurance.

In New Castle County, a Permit Endorsed License from the county is also required.

You should also provide a statutory compliance bond as well as a liability insurance certificate.

District of Columbia

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the District of Columbia Board of Industrial Trades.

Licenses available:

Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Mechanic (has the following levels):

  • Apprentice – a verification that they will work for a licensed Master required.
  • Journeyman – 8000 hours or four years of experience as an apprentice required.
  • Master – four years of experience as an apprentice and four as a journeyman required.

Master Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Mechanical Limited:

  • Four years of experience as an apprentice and four as a journeyman required.

Steam Engineer – Class 1, 2, 3, 4, 5A, 5B (miniature boiler), Class 6.

Operating Engineer – Class 7 Unlimited (air compressors and refrigeration systems), 7A (air compressors), 8A (refrigeration systems).

Licensing requirements:

  • 18+ years old.
  • Meeting education and/or experience requirements (as stated above).
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the District of Columbia Board of Industrial Trades.

Available licenses:

  • Refrigeration/Air Conditioning Contractor.
  • Refrigeration/Air Conditioning Contractor Limited.

Licensing requirements:

  • A successfully passed examination.
  • Completion of Local Representative Affidavit.
  • Completion of Stock Certificate.
  • Provide performance bond.

Florida

HVAC Technician:

No license required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation.

Available licenses:

  • Air Conditioning – Class A State Certified Contractor.
  • Air Conditioning – Class B State Certified Contractor.
  • Air Conditioning- Class A State Registered Contractor.
  • Air Conditioning- Class B State Registered Contractor.
  • Air Conditioning – Class C State Certified Service Contractor.
  • Air Conditioning – Class C State Registered Contractor.
  • Mechanical State Certified Contractor.
  • Solar State Certified Contractor.

Licensing requirements:

  • Certified – a successfully passed examination and work experience anywhere in the state.
  • Registered – a successfully passed local competency examination and work experience only with that locality.

For both types (one of the following is required):

  • A bachelor’s degree in a relevant field and 2000 hours or one year of experience.
  • Four years of experience at the apprenticeship program, at least one year of work should be as foreman.
  • One year of experience as a foreman and a minimum of three years of college credits.
  • One year of experience as a worker, one as a foreman, and two years of college credits.
  • Two years of work experience as a worker, one as a foreman, and one year of college credits.
  • A successfully passed Business and Finance examination is a must.

Georgia

HVAC Technician:

  • No license required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Georgia Board of Conditioned Air Contractors.

Available licenses:

Conditioned Air Contractor Class I License (Restricted in BTU limits):

Requirements:

  • Four years of experience in the HVAC area, with two of them as a lead mechanic, one as a service tech with EPA Type II certification (or higher), one year of residential experience at a supervisory position.
  • Board-approved heat loss and gain and duct design program completion.
  • A successfully passed state examination.
  • Deposit $10,000 surety bond in the country where one plans to work.

Conditioned Air Contractor Class II License (Unrestricted in BTU limits):

Requirements:

  • Five years of experience in the HVAC area, with two of them as a lead mechanic, one as a service tech with EPA Type II certification (or higher), two years of commercial experience at a supervisory position.
  • Board-approved heat loss and gain and duct design program completion.
  • A successfully passed state examination.
  • Deposit $10,000 surety bond in the country where one plans to work.

Hawaii

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.

Available licenses:

Journey Worker Electrician:

  • 10,000 hours or five years of residential or commercial wiring experience, under the supervision of a licensed electrician.
  • 240 hours of approved electrical coursework.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Journey Worker Specialty Electrician:

  • 6,000 hours or three years of residential or commercial wiring experience, under the supervision of a licensed electrician.
  • 120 hours of approved electrical coursework.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Supervising Electrician:

  • Previously licensed as a journey worker electrician for four years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Supervising Specialty Electrician:

  • Previously licensed as a journey worker specialty electrician for two years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Journey Worker Plumber:

  • 10,000 hours or five years of experience as a journey worker’s or master plumber’s assistant.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Master Plumber:

  • Two years of previous work experience as a journey worker plumber.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.

Specialty contractor is a required license (requirements):

  • The successfully passed trade and business/law examinations.
  • Workers compensation insurance.
  • Liability insurance: $100,000 individual, $300,000 occurrence, $50,000 property damage.
  • Performance bond.
  • The business must be state-registered.

Idaho

HVAC Technician:

Certificates of Competency can be obtained through the Idaho Division of Building Safety.

Available certificates:

HVAC Apprentice:

  • 18+ years old or a registration in a certified HVAC training program by a Bureau of Apprenticeship Training.
  • Being enrolled in an approved training program.
  • Working under the supervision of a certified HVAC journeyman.

Specialty HVAC Apprentice:

  • 18+ years old or a registration in a certified HVAC training program by a Bureau of Apprenticeship Training.
  • Being enrolled in an approved training program.
  • Working under the supervision of a certified HVAC journeyman or specialty journeyman.

HVAC Journeyman:

  • Four years of previous experience in HVAC or as a registered HVAC apprentice with all apprentice training completed.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Hearth Specialty Journeyman:

  • One year of previous experience in HVAC or as a registered HVAC apprentice.
  • Completion of board-approved training plus 60 hours of training in piping installation and fuel gas code methods.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Waste Oil Specialty Journeyman:

  • One year of previous experience in waste oil heating installation.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Fuel Gas Piping Specialty Journeyman:

  • One year of HVAC experience.
  • Completion of board-approved training plus 60 hours of training in piping installation and fuel gas code methods.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

Certificates of Competency can be obtained through the Idaho Division of Building Safety.

Available certificates:

HVAC Contractor:

  • 24 months of experience as an HVAC journeyman.
  • A successfully passed examination.
  • $2000 of surety bond.

HVAC Specialty Contractor:

  • 24 months of experience as an HVAC journeyman.
  • A successfully passed examination.
  • $2000 of surety bond.

Illinois

HVAC Technician:

  • No state-level license required.

HVAC Contractor:

  • No state-level license required.

Local licenses:

  • Cook County – Contractor’s registration with the Cook County Department of Building and Zoning.
  • City of Evanston – HVAC Mechanical Contractors must pass the International Mechanical Code and International Fuel Gas Code exams to receive a license.
  • City of Elgin – Warm Air Heating Contractors must pass an examination through the Department of Community Development to register with the city.
  • City of DeKalb – Mechanical Contractors must pass an examination to register with the city.

Indiana

HVAC Technician:

  • No state-level license required.

Local licenses:

City of Evansville.

  • Apprentice Heating, Ventilating, and Air Conditioning Installer license requires registration in an approved Apprentice Training Program.
  • Journeyman Heating, Ventilating, and Air Conditioning Installer license requires four years of experience and a successfully passed examination.
  • Master Heating, Ventilating, and Air Conditioning Installer license requires four years of experience and a successfully passed examination plus a surety bond for $15,000 to the Building Commission, with workers compensation insurance.
  • Apprentice Refrigeration Installer license requires registration in an approved Apprentice Training Program.
  • Journeyman Refrigeration Installer license requires four years of experience and a successfully passed examination.
  • Master Refrigeration Installer license requires four years of experience and a successfully passed examination plus a surety bond for $15,000 to the Building Commission, with workers compensation insurance.

HVAC Contractor:

  • No state-level license required.

Local licenses:

City of Indianapolis.

The individuals with five years of HVACR experience and a successfully passed examination can obtain the HVACR Contractor License in the following categories.

  • High-Pressure Steam.
  • Air Conditioning A- Unrestricted.
  • Air Conditioning B-25 cooling/500,000 BTUs heating.
  • Air Conditioning D – 5 tons cooling/300,000 BTUs heating.
  • Refrigeration.

City of Evansville.

The following licenses require four years of HVACR experience and a successfully passed examination with a performance bond for $15,000 to the Building Commission and workers compensation insurance provided.

  • Flammable Liquid Tank and Piping Contractor.
  • Special Sub Contractor.
  • Underground Utility Contractor.

Iowa

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Iowa Department of Public Health, Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board.

Available licenses:

Apprentice:

  • Enrollment with a US Dept of Labor-approved apprenticeship program and work supervised by a licensed journeyman or master are required.

Journeyman:

  • Four years of experience as an apprentice and a successfully passed journeyman exam are required.

Master:

  • A journeyman license, two years of experience, and a successfully passed master-level exam are required.

Service Technician HVAC Specialty:

  • Completion of the North American Technical Excellence (NATE) training and certification required.

Hearth Systems Specialty Technician:

  • National Fireplace Institute certification required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Iowa Department of Public Health, Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board.

Available licenses:

HVAC/R Contractor (requirements):

  • Being Master of Record or having an employee on staff.
  • Registration as a contractor with the Iowa Division of Labor.
  • Holding a $500,000 public liability insurance.
  • $5000 surety bond.

Kansas

HVAC Technician:

  • No state-level license required.

Requirements for local licensing:

Lawrence.

Residential Mechanical Tradesperson:

  • Two years of work experience.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Journeyman Mechanical Tradesperson:

  • Two years of work experience.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Master Mechanical Tradesperson:

  • Four years of work experience or two years of work experience as a journeyman.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Sedgwick County.

One can pass an International Code Council tradesperson examination and obtain Trade Certificates.

Trade Certificates include:

Journeyman:

  • Plumbing.
  • Refrigeration.
  • Gas Fitter.
  • Solid Fuel.

Master:

  • Plumbing.
  • Refrigeration.
  • Gas Fitter.
  • Solid Fuel.

HVAC Contractor:

  • No state-level license required.

Requirements for local licensing:

Lawrence.

Class E, Mechanical (HVAC) Contractor license requirements:

  • Being a certified master mechanic (4 years of experience or 2 years of experience as a journeyman).
  • A successfully passed examination.

Sedgwick County.

One can submit fees, application and provide workman’s compensation insurance and proof of liability to obtain a contractor license.

Contractor licenses include:

  • Class A (General Contractor).
  • Class C (Residential Contractor).
  • Class D (Maintenance Contractor).

Johnson County.

Class DM – Mechanical Contractor:

  • Workman’s compensation insurance.
  • Liability insurance.
  • Either a Bachelor’s degree in engineering, construction science, architecture, or construction management.
  • Or a successfully passed approved contractor’s examination (ICC Kansas Standard Master Mechanical Exam or equivalent).

Kentucky

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings & Construction.

Available licenses:

Apprentice HVAC Mechanic:

  • Work under the supervision of a Kentucky licensed Master HVAC Contractor.
  • Registration with the state.

Journeyman HVAC Mechanic:

  • Either 3000 hours or two years of work under the supervision of a Kentucky licensed master HVAC contractor.
  • Or four years of work experience in HVAC in another jurisdiction except for Kentucky.
  • A successfully passed examination.
  • One year of HVAC training can be equivalent to one year of employment experience.
  • Proof of liability insurance ($500,000 general/$300,000 property damage).

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings & Construction.

Available licenses:

Master HVAC Contractor:

  • Either 3000 hours or two years of work as a journeyman under the supervision of a Kentucky licensed master HVAC contractor.
  • Or five years of work experience in HVAC in another jurisdiction except for Kentucky.
  • A successfully passed examination.
  • One year of HVAC training can be equivalent to one year of employment experience.

Louisiana

HVAC Technician:

  • No license required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Louisiana State Licensing Board.

Available licenses:

Mechanical Work Contractor license has the following sub licenses:

  • Industrial Pipe Work and Insulation.
  • Controls for Mechanical Work.
  • Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation, Duct Work and Refrigeration.

Licensing requirements:

  • A successfully passed trade examination (either for a subspecialty/ies you’re interested in or Mechanical Work Contractor, which covers all three).
  • The successfully passed Business and Law examination.
  • A statement of financial responsibility.
  • Appoint a qualified individual to legally represent the business entity.

Maine

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained though the Maine Fuel Board.

Available licenses:

Oil Burner/Solid Fuel Technician has the following levels:

Apprentice:

  • State registration.
  • Work under the supervision of a licensed master solid fuel or oil burner tech.

Journeyman (one of the following requirements should be met to be eligible for the exam):

  • Experience as a licensed apprentice for one year.
  • 160 hours of coursework (with 75 in the lab on oil burning systems and experience as a licensed apprentice for 6 months).
  • Accredited heating course for one year (320 hours of coursework with 150 in the lab on oil burning systems).

Master Oil Burner Technician:

  • Minimum of four years of licensed experience, with two as a journeyman before the examination.

Master Solid Fuel Technician:

  • Minimum of two years as a licensed apprentice in solid fuel before the examination.

Limited Wood Pellet Technician:

  • Complete application.
  • Pay the fees.

Oil Limited Energy Auditor Technician:

  • Certified Building Analyst 1 certification test.
  • A field examination of the Building Performance Institute or an approved training program before obtaining a license.

Propane Limited Energy Auditor Technician:

  • Certified Building Analyst 1 certification test.
  • A field examination of the Building Performance Institute or an approved training program before obtaining a license.

Propane and Natural Gas Technician:

  • A board-approved training program before the examination.

Plant Operator and/or Delivery Technician:

  • Complete application.
  • Pay the fees.

HVAC Contractor:

  • No license offered.

NOTE:

For the work in the construction field, one of the technician licenses listed above is required.

Maryland

HVAC Technician:

The HVACR license can be obtained through the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation and has the following levels:

Apprentice:

  • Examination isn’t required.
  • Work under the supervision of a licensed Master, Master Restricted or Limited HVACR.

Journeyman (one of the following requirements should be met):

  • Three years or 1875 hours of training as a licensed apprentice under the supervision of a licensed HVAC contractor (no Journeyman exam required).
  • HVACR certificate or degree program plus minimum experience under a licensed journeyman overall should be equal to three years.
  • Three years of experience in HVACR out-of-state.

Master:

  • Previously licensed journeyman employed in all HVACR areas.
  • Three years of work experience under the supervision of a licensed HVACR Master.
  • 1875 hours of training within a year before the Master License examination.
    (To become Master HVAC Technician one should also become an HVAC Contractor).

Locally required licenses:

Anne Arundel County.

Licenses can be obtained through the Anne Arundel County Inspections & Permits.

Additionally to the HVAC Tech state license, the HVAC Mechanical License in one or more of the following categories is required:

  • Cooling Service.
  • Heating Service.
  • Oil Burner Service.
  • Hydronic Systems.
  • Domestic Refrigeration.
  • General Refrigeration.
  • Vent and Duct Systems Installation.
  • Heating System Installation.
  • Cooling System Installation.
  • Full Journeyman.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing.

Required licensure:

Master HVACR Contractor:

  • Previously licensed as a Journeyman HVACR Tech for three years.
  • Two years of work experience under the supervision of a licensed Master.
  • A successfully passed Master HVACR Contractor examination.

Master Restricted HVACR Contractor:

  • Previously licensed as a Journeyman HVACR Tech for three years.
  • Two years of work experience under the supervision of a licensed Master.
  • A successfully passed Master HVACR Restricted Contractor examination.

Limited HVACR Contractor:

  • Previously licensed as a Journeyman HVACR Tech for three years.
  • Two years of work experience under the supervision of a licensed Master HVACR Contractor.
  • A successfully passed Limited HVACR Contractor examination.

For all contractors, general liability insurance ($300,000) and property damage insurance ($100,000) are obligatory.

Massachusetts

HVAC Technician:

Licenses can be obtained through the Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security Department of Public Safety, and Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation Division of Professional Licensure.

Available licenses:

Refrigeration Technician is divided by the following levels:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the Massachusetts Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development Division of Apprentice Standards.
  • Enrollment with the appropriate program to gain training and experience.

Technician (one of the following training/experience requirements must be met):

  • Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship and proof of 6000 hours of work as a Refrigeration Apprentice, 250 of which, refrigeration classwork (100 theoretical hours and 250 electrical code training).
  • Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship and proof of 4000 hours of work as a Refrigeration Apprentice, 250 of which, refrigeration classwork (100 theoretical hours, 100 electrical code training, 250 shop work).
  • Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship and proof of 2000 hours of work as a Refrigeration Apprentice, 1000 of which, refrigeration classwork (100 theoretical hours, 100 electrical code training, 700 shop work).

Oil Burner Technician certificate is divided by the following levels:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the Massachusetts Department of Public Safety.
  • Paid fees.

Technician certificate is available in three groups.

Group 1 (Unrestricted Power Burners):

  • Experience in oil burners for 5-7 years.
  • Classroom training.

Group 2 (Power Burners 1 and 2 Oil):

  • Completion of an apprenticeship program.
  • Completion of 26 weeks of classroom training.

Group 3 (Gravity Feed):

  • Work experience with non-pressurized oil burners.

Sheet Metal Worker license is divided by the following levels:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the Board of Examiners of Sheet Metal Workers.

Journeyman:

J-1 – Unrestricted:

  • 8000 hours of on-the-job experience.
  • 750 hours of classwork training within five years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

J-2 Restricted:

  • 4800 hours of on-the-job experience.
  • 450 hours of classwork training within three years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security Department of Public Safety.

Available licenses:

Refrigeration Contractor requirements:

  • 2000 hours of on-the-job experience as a licensed Refrigeration Tech.
  • 100 hours of approved classwork training in refrigeration.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Construction Supervisor’s License is necessary if you plan to open a refrigeration contracting company.

This license has three levels:

  • Unlimited – work with buildings smaller than 35,000 sq ft is allowed.
  • Limited – work with one-family or two-family dwellings of any size is allowed.
  • Specialty – the supervisory work of the construction types is allowed.

Michigan

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.

Examination-based licenses:

  • Boiler Repairer.
  • Boiler Installer.
  • Boiler Operator and Stationary Engineer.

Locally offered licenses:

Detroit.

A license can be obtained through the City of Detroit Boiler Division.

Available licenses:

Refrigeration Operator (1st and 2nd Class):

  • Experience for two years in refrigeration equipment operation.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Refrigeration Operator (3rd Class):

  • Experience for three months or a course in non-domestic refrigeration equipment operation.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Stationary Engineer (1st Class):

  • Previously held for two years 2nd Class Stationary Engineer license.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Stationary Engineer (2nd Class):

  • Previously held for one year 3rd Class Stationary Engineer license.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Stationary Engineer (3rd Class):

  • Previously held for one year High-Pressure Boiler Operator’s license.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Grand Rapids.

A license can be obtained through the City of Grand Rapids Development Center, Building Inspections.

Available licenses:

Boiler Engineer:

  • Experience for three years as a Boiler Operator.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Boiler Operator:

  • Experience for one year under a licensed Boiler Engineer.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Specialty Operator:

  • Specialty equipment training.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Construction Codes, Mechanical Division.

Required license:

Mechanical Contractor license comes in various classifications.

To earn each of them, one should have three years of experience in the given classification and pass the examination.

  • Fire suppression.
  • Refrigeration.
  • Ductwork.
  • HVAC equipment.
  • Hydronic heating and cooling and process piping.
  • Limited heating service.
  • Limited refrigeration and air conditioning service.
  • Unlimited heating service.
  • Unlimited refrigeration and air conditioning service.

Specialty licenses include:

  • Solid Fuel and Vented Decorative Gas Appliances.
  • Solar Heating and Cooling.
  • Fuel Gas Piping and Venting.
  • Fuel Gas Piping.
  • LP Distribution Piping.

Minnesota

HVAC Technician:

  • No state license required.

Locally required licenses:

Minneapolis.

Certificate of Competency Cards can be obtained through the Minneapolis Community Planning & Economic Development, Construction Code Services.

Journeyman requirements:

  • Practical experience at the apprenticeship for four years.
  • 144 hours of classroom training.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Master requirements:

  • Experience as a journeyman for one year.
  • Practical experience for a minimum of five years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

The Certification is available in the following categories:

  • Steam and Hot Water.
  • Warm Air Ventilation.
  • Plumber/Gasfitter.
  • Fuel Gas.
  • Refrigeration.

Bloomington.

The licenses can be obtained through the Bloomington Building and Inspections Division.

To receive a license, one must pass an examination.

Available licenses:

  • HVAC.
  • Gas Installer – A.

HVAC Contractor:

  • No state license required.
  • NOTE:
  • Mechanical Contractors should file a surety bond for $25,000 with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry.

Locally required licenses:

St. Cloud.

Licenses required by the City of St. Cloud Building Safety Department:

Ventilation Contractor’s License:

  • A copy of the Mechanical Contractor Bond Certificate issued by the state.
  • Certificate of Liability Insurance with the City of St. Cloud as Certificate Holder ($100,000/$500,000/$250,000).
  • Workers Compensation insurance.

Heating Contractor’s License:

  • Either a Master Certificate in the city.
  • Or a successfully passed examination.

NOTE:

The codes are different in various jurisdictions, so one need to check with their locality.

Mississippi

HVAC Technician:

  • No state license required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Mississippi State Board of Contractors.

The available license is Mechanical Contractor divided by the following classifications:

  • Refrigeration.
  • Heat, A/C, Ventilation.
  • Boiler Installation and Repair.
  • Process Piping.
  • Ductwork for Heating, A/C and Ventilation.
  • Fueling Systems.
  • Heat Exchangers and Repairs.
  • Instrumentation, Controls and Energy Management-Mechanical.
  • Energy Management.
  • Incinerator Construction.

License requirements:

  • Business name registration with Mississippi Secretary of State’s office.
  • Mississippi Federal Tax ID or Tax ID Number.
  • Workers compensation insurance certificate.
  • General liability coverage certificate.
  • Application including a qualifying party.
  • A successfully passed trade examination.
  • A successfully passed Law and Business Management examination.

Missouri

HVAC Technician:

  • No state license required.

Locally required licenses (included, but not limited to):

Louis County.

Licenses can be obtained through the St. Louis County Board of Examiners for Mechanical Licensing.

Available licenses:

  • HVAC Servicer-Installer.
  • Sheet Metal.
  • Pipe Fitter.

Divided into the following categories (requirements):

Apprentice:

  • Enrollment with the apprenticeship.
  • Apprentice licenses.

Journeyman:

  • 7500 hours that include the apprenticeship, practical experience, and classroom training.
  • A successfully passed examination.

St. Charles City.

An HVAC/Tinner license can be obtained through the City of St. Charles Community Development.

It only involves an annually filed application with the city and a $50 annual fee.

HVAC Contractor:

  • No state license required.

Locally required licenses (included, but not limited to):

Jefferson County.

A Mechanical License for contractors can be obtained through the Jefferson County Code Commission.

St. Charles County.

A Mechanical Contractor license can be obtained through the St. Charles County Building and Code Enforcement Division.

The license is available in the following classifications:

  • Class A (unlimited size/power system).
  • Class B (limited to 20 tons cooling capacity/unit or 500,000 BTUs).

Requirements:

  • International Code Council examination.
  • Surety bond for $10,000.
  • Liability insurance for $500,000.

Kansas City.

Heating & Ventilating Supervisor license can be obtained through the City Permits Division.

  • HVAC experience for three years.
  • 21+ years old.
  • A successfully passed HVAC mechanical examination.

Montana

HVAC Technician:

  • No license required.

HVAC Contractor:

  • No license required.
  • NOTE:
  • The registration with the state’s Department of Labor and Industry through one of the following ways may be required:

Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate (ICEC).

  • Appropriate for sole proprietors without employees.
  • No worker’s compensation insurance required.
  • Experience and examination aren’t required.
  • Only a filed application and fee are required.

Construction Contractor Registration (CR).

  • Appropriate for corporations with employees.
  • Workers compensation insurance is required.
  • Experience and examination aren’t required.
  • A filed application and fee are required.

Nebraska

HVAC Technician:

  • State license isn’t required.

Licenses are required at a local city or town level for all HVAC techs.

Licensing requirements in the larger cities:

Lincoln.

A Mechanical Technician license can be obtained through the Board of HVAC Examiners.

The license is available with the following classifications:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the Building & Safety Department to be eligible to work under the supervision of a Master Contractor.

Journeyman:

  • A successfully passed examination.

Fremont.

The licenses can be obtained through the Department of Building Permits & Inspections.

Electrical, comes in the following levels:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the city.
  • State Apprentice Electrician card.

Journeyman:

  • Nebraska State Electrical Board successfully passed examination.

Plumbing, comes in the following levels:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the city.

Journeyman:

  • A successfully passed recognized examination (e.g., through National Inspection Testing, Educational Testing Service, etc.).

Mechanical, comes in the following levels:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the city.

Journeyman:

  • A successfully passed recognized examination (e.g., through National Inspection Testing, Educational Testing Service, etc.).

Steamfitter, comes in the following levels:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the city.

Journeyman:

  • A successfully passed recognized examination (e.g., through National Inspection Testing, Educational Testing Service, etc.).

Water Conditioner, comes in the following levels:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the city.

Journeyman:

  • A successfully passed recognized examination (e.g., through National Inspection Testing, Educational Testing Service, etc.).

HVAC Contractor:

A General Contractor state license required:

  • Workers compensation insurance (if one hires employees).

A license can be obtained through the Nebraska Department of Labor.

Locally required license:

Lincoln.

A Mechanical Master Contractor can be obtained through the Board of HVAC Examiners.

  • Liability insurance.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Fremont.

The Master Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing Licenses can be obtained through the Department of Building Permits & Inspections.

  • A successfully passed recognized examination (e.g., through National Inspection Testing, Educational Testing Service, etc.).
  • Certificate of Liability Insurance.

Nevada

HVAC Technician:

  • State license isn’t required.

At Clark County, one must obtain a Journeyman-level HVAC Mechanic License through the International Code Council.

A successfully passed examination is required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Nevada State Contractors Board.

One of the following licenses is required:

Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Contractor (Specialty C-21):

Subspecialties:

  • C-21a – Refrigeration.
  • C-21b – Air conditioning.
  • C-21c – Sheet Metal.
  • C-21d – Maintenance.
  • C-21e – Solar air conditioning.
  • C-21f – Cold and hot water systems.
  • C-21g – Industrial piping.

Requirements:

  • Experience at a minimum journeyman level for four years (three years can be substituted by the training in an accredited HVAC tech school).
  • Fulfilled financial responsibility requirements based on the contracts monetary limit (depending on one’s financial status).
  • Submitted application and a successfully passed examination for the preferred category.
  • A successfully passed trade exam.
  • A successfully passed Construction Management Survey examination on business management.
  • Surety bond.

New Hampshire

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the New Hampshire Department of Safety Building Safety & Construction Mechanical Safety Section.

Available licenses:

Oil Heating Technician (optional):

  • Field experience for 4000 hours.
  • One of the following certificates:
    • NORA Silver Certificate (National Oilheat Research Alliance).
    • NORA Gold Certificate (National Oilheat Research Alliance).
    • NATE (North American Technician Excellence) both Oil Heating Installation Module and Oil Heating Service Technician Module are required.

Gas Fitter, comes in the following levels:

Trainee:

  • A submitted application.
  • Endorsement letter signed by trainee’s master.

Fuel Gas Installation Tech:

  • Practical experience for 1000 hours.
  • Classroom education for 100 hours.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Fuel Gas Service Tech:

  • Practical experience for 2000 hours.
  • Classroom education for 140 hours.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Hearth System Installation and Service Tech:

  • Practical experience for 2000 hours.
  • Classroom education for 60 hours.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

  • Registration as Mechanical Business Entity with the New Hampshire Department of Safety Building Safety & Construction Mechanical Safety Section.
  • Must include all licensed technicians with one as a responsible managing employee on the list.

New Jersey

HVAC Technician:

  • License isn’t required.

HVAC Contractor:

The Master HVACR Contractor license can be acquired from the New Jersey State Board of Examiners of HVACR Contractors.

Requirements (one of the following):

  • The HVACR Bachelor’s degree and HVAC experience for one year.
  • A Bachelor’s degree in a field related to HVACR and HVAC experience for three years.
  • Completion of a trading program and experience for two years.
  • Four years of HVACR apprenticeship and HVAC experience for one year.

Additionally to the listed above, every contractor must meet the following conditions:

  • Post a guarantor bond for $3000.
  • Hold liability insurance for $500,000.

New Mexico

HVAC Technician:

A certificate can be obtained through the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department.

The Journeyman Certificates of Competence are available in the following categories:

Gas fitter:

  • Experience working under the supervision of a licensed contractor for 4000 hours.
  • A successfully passed JG examination.

Refrigeration:

  • Experience working under the supervision of a licensed contractor for 4000 hours.
  • A successfully passed JR examination.

Plumber and natural gas fitter:

  • Experience working under the supervision of a licensed contractor for 4000 hours.
  • A successfully passed JPG examination.

Boiler operator – low-pressure:

  • Experience working under the supervision of a licensed contractor for 1000 hours.
  • A successfully passed B01 examination.

Boiler operator – high and low-pressure:

  • Experience working under a licensed contractor for 1000 hours.
  • A successfully passed B02 examination.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department.

The license is available in the following categories:

  • MM-2 (Natural Gas Fitting Contractor).
  • MM-3 (Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning Contractor).
  • MM-4 (Process Piping, Heating, and Cooling Contractor).

MM-98 – Mechanical Contractor license can be obtained instead of all of the above, plus it covers MM-1, Plumbing Contractor.

Requirements:

  • Experience for 8000 hours.
  • A successfully passed test in for one of the categories from above.
  • Surety bond for $10,000.

New York

HVAC Technician:

  • State license isn’t required.

License required locally:

New York City.

High Pressure Boiler Operating Engineer:

A license can be obtained through the New York City Building Department.

One of the following requirements should be met:

  • Experience for five years working as a Fireman, Journeyman Boiler-Maker, Oiler, Machinist, General Assistant in NYC.
  • Mechanical Engineer degree plus experience in operation and maintenance of high-pressure boilers for one year (in NYC).
  • An Engineer Certificate (hold for four years before licensure).
  • Experience supervising, operating and maintaining steam generating plant of a state building for five years plus one year in NYC.
  • Completion of a two-year apprenticeship with registration plus three years of work experience in NYC.
  • Previously held Commission from the Pressure Vessel Inspectors and National Board of Boiler for seven years.
  • ASME certification of Qualifications of High Capacity Fossil Fuel Operator plus experience for five years.
  • Certification/license in high-pressure from another jurisdiction for five years.

Oil Burning Equipment Installer:

A license can be obtained from the New York City Building Department.

The requirements for the license issued with the following categories:

  • Class A – experience for four years.
  • Class B – experience for three years.
  • The successfully passed practical and written exams.

Refrigeration Operating Engineer Certificate of Qualification:

A license can be obtained through the Fire Department of New York.

Requirements (one of the following qualifications must be met):

  • Experience for one year.
  • Training from an approved school for 200 hours.
  • Possess a license in High-Pressure Boiler Operating Engineer.

Syracuse.

A license can be obtained through the Division of Code Enforcement.

Licenses and requirements:

Class A Master HVAC Mechanical License:

  • Experience for 10 years with five in installation and maintenance and three in construction.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Class B Limited HVAC Mechanical License:

  • Experience for 5 years in HVAC with three in installation and maintenance.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Class C Residential HVAC Mechanical License:

  • Experience for 5 years in HVAC with three in installation and maintenance.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Class M Master Refrigeration Mechanical License:

  • Experience for 5 years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Class R Limited Refrigeration Mechanical License:

  • Experience for 5 years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Class S Limited Refrigeration Mechanical License:

  • Experience for 5 years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Class V Special Mechanical License:

  • Experience for 5 years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

  • A state license isn’t required.

Licenses required locally:

Buffalo.

A Contractor license can be obtained through the Permit and Inspection Services.

  • Certifications for yours and your employees’ trades.
  • Certificate of General Liability Insurance.
  • Business name proof.
  • Workers’ compensation insurance.

Ithaca.

An HVAC Contractor certificate of registration can be obtained through the Building Division.

  • Certificate of General Liability Insurance.
  • Disability Insurance.
  • Workers’ compensation insurance certificate.

Other jurisdictions can have additional requirements both for HVAC Technician and Contractor.

Check in with the area you plan to work in.

North Carolina

HVAC Technician:

At present, a license isn’t required.

State legislature is considering technician licensure.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the North Carolina State Board of Refrigeration Examiners, North Carolina State Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors and North Carolina State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinklers Contractors.

Available licenses and requirements:

Commercial Refrigeration Contractor:

  • Commercial refrigeration experience for 4000 hours (academic or technical training in the field can substitute up to half of it).
  • A successfully passed examination.

Transport Refrigeration Contractor:

  • Commercial refrigeration experience for 4000 hours (academic or technical training in the field can substitute up to half of it).
  • A successfully passed examination.

Heating, Group No. 1 Contractor:

  • Experience for two years (academic or technical training in the field can substitute one year).
  • A successfully passed examination.

Heating, Group No. 2 Contractor:

  • Experience for two years (academic or technical training in the field can substitute one year).
  • A successfully passed examination.

Heating, Group No. 3 Contractor:

  • Experience for two years (academic or technical training in the field can substitute one year).
  • A successfully passed examination.

Fuel Piping Contractor:

  • Experience for one year (academic or technical training in the field can substitute half of it).
  • A successfully passed examination.

Electrical Contractor (3 categories):

Limited:

  • Experience for four years with primary experience for two.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Intermediate:

  • Experience for six years with primary experience for four.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Unlimited:

  • Experience for seven years with primary experience for five.
  • A successfully passed examination.

A statement of bonding ability and/or a surety bond is obligatory for all contractors.

North Dakota

HVAC Technician:

  • No state license required.

Locally required licenses (not limited to):

Fargo.

A license can be obtained through the City of Fargo Business Licensing Department.

  • Fuel Gas (Journeyman, Master).
  • Mechanical (Journeyman, Master).

Both require:

  • Experience for three years.
  • Some experience can be substituted by training.

Minot.

An HVAC Installer license can be obtained through the Heating & Air Conditioning Board.

The following categories are available:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the city.
  • Planned training and job placement.

Journeyman:

  • Experience as an apprentice for 7600 hours or four years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Master:

  • Experience as a journeyman for 3400 hours or two years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

A state license can be obtained through the North Dakota Secretary of State.

Contractor License:

  • Apply and pay fee.
  • Liability coverage insurance certificate.
  • Insurance certificate of worker’s compensation.
  • Registration of the business name with Secretary of State.

Locally required licenses:

Grand Forks.

Licenses can be obtained through Department of Inspections.

Mechanical Contractor:

Journeyman Mechanical Installer:

  • Registration with the city.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Master Mechanical Installer:

  • Registration with the city.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Mechanical Contractors in Grand Forks should have:

  • A North Dakota State Contractors License.
  • License and permit bond for $5000.
  • Insurance certificate.

Williston.

Contractor licenses can be obtained through the Department of Building Safety.

HVAC Contractor license is divided by Journeyman Mechanic and Master Mechanic levels.

The latter should have a Liability Insurance Certificate.

Requirements for both:

  • Apply and pay fees.
  • Provide a list of years of experience.

Ohio

HVAC Technician:

  • License isn’t required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board.

HVAC Contractor license requirements:

  • Experience for five years as an HVAC Technician to be eligible for the exam.
  • Contractor liability coverage for $500,000.

Oklahoma

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board.

Available licenses:

Mechanical Apprentice:

  • Registration with the state.
  • Work under the supervision of a licensed Mechanical Contractor.

Mechanical Journeyman (one of the following is required to qualify for the exam):

  • Three years of experience as a Mechanical Apprentice.
  • Associates degree in HVAC with 1000 hours of training plus one year of experience as a Mechanical Apprentice.
  • A vocational diploma with 500 hours of training plus two years of experience as a Mechanical Apprentice.
  • A vocational diploma with 375 hours of training plus two and a quarter year of experience as a Mechanical Apprentice.
  • A vocational diploma with 334 hours of training plus two and a third year of experience as a Mechanical Apprentice.
  • A vocational diploma with 250 hours of training plus two and a half years of experience as a Mechanical Apprentice.

HVAC Journeyman license has the following categories:

  • HVAC Journeyman – Limited and Unlimited.
  • Refrigeration Journeyman.
  • Limited Residential Journeyman.
  • Process Piping Journeyman.
  • Natural Gas Piping Journeyman.
  • Medical Gas Journeyman.
  • Petroleum Refinery Process Piping Journeyman.
  • Ground Source Piping Journeyman.
  • Sheet Metal Journeyman.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board.

Available licenses:

Mechanical Contractor (one of the following is required to qualify for the exam):

  • Three years of experience as a Mechanical Journeyman.
  • Associates degree in HVAC with 1000 hours of training plus one year of experience as a Mechanical Journeyman.
  • A vocational diploma with 500 hours of training plus two years of experience as a Mechanical Journeyman.
  • A vocational diploma with 375 hours of training plus two and a quarter year of experience as a Mechanical Journeyman.
  • A vocational diploma with 334 hours of training plus two and a third year of experience as a Mechanical Journeyman.
  • A vocational diploma with 250 hours of training plus two and a half years of experience as a Mechanical Journeyman.

Mechanical Contractor license has the following categories:

  • HVAC/R Contractor – Limited and Unlimited.
  • Refrigeration Contractor.
  • Process Piping Contractor.
  • Natural Gas Piping Contractor
  • Ground Source Piping Contractor.
  • Sheet Metal Contractor.

Mechanical Contractors should also meet the following requirements:

  • Corporate Surety Bond for $5000.
  • General Liability Insurance Certificate for $50,000.

Oregon

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Oregon Construction Contractors Board.

For a Limited Energy Technician Class B (LE/B) license, one of the following requirements should be met:

  • An approved apprenticeship in Oregon (registration with the Oregon Apprenticeship and Training Division and enrollment in a program; results in four years or 8000 hours of work experience plus 144-192 classwork hours each year).
  • 288 hours of classwork, 4000 hours of experience, and 32 hours of board-approved training.
  • Experience for 8000 hours outside of Oregon plus 32 hours of board-approved training.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Oregon Construction Contractors Board.

Limited Specialty Contractor HVAC/R (LHR) – all of the following required:

  • Experience for four years or 4000 hours in installation.
  • Completion of specialized training through a school, apprenticeship program, or on-the-job (service, maintenance, electrical repair, installation/replacement, one of each).
  • 16 hours of law and business practices pre-examination training.
  • After the exam, choose the license endorsement (commercial, residential, commercial and residential).
  • Business name registration with the Secretary of State.
  • A CCB surety bond
  • General liability insurance
  • Workers compensation insurance

Pennsylvania

HVAC Technician:

  • No state license required.

Locally required license:

Philadelphia.

A license can be obtained through the City of Philadelphia Business Services Department.

Available licenses:

Sheet Metal Systems Apprentice:

  • Enrollment and completion of a Registered Sheet Metal Technician Apprentice Program.

Sheet Metal Systems Technician:

  • Enrollment and completion of a Registered Sheet Metal Technician Apprentice Program.
  • A successfully passed International Code Council’s Sheet Metal Technician examination.

Engineer License – Boiler, Stationary and Refrigeration (Grade A, Grade B):

  • Steam Boiler, Stationary and Refrigeration (Grade A).
  • Refrigeration Engineer (Grade B).

For both Grades, a successfully passed International Code Council exam is required.

Warm Air Installer:

  • A successfully passed International Code Council’s Warm Air Installer examination.

Reading.

A license can be obtained through the Building & Trades Code Enforcement Department.

Mechanical Journeyman:

  • Certificate of Completion of PA Apprenticeship and training Council-approved Apprenticeship (four years of the program with 2000 hours of work per year and classroom training).
  • Or eight years of experience under the supervision of a Mechanical Contractor, Master Electrician, or Master Plumber.
  • And a successfully passed Mechanical Journeyman exam of the City of Reading.

HVAC Contractor:

  • No state license required.

Locally required license:

Pittsburgh.

The HVAC Contractor license can be obtained through the Department of Permits, Licenses and Inspections.

Requirements:

  • Experience in the HVAC construction area for four years.
  • Certificate of General Liability Insurance for $300,000 with City of Pittsburgh as Certificate Holder.
  • Registration with the city for taxes, tax ID.
  • A successfully passed International Code Council certification exam for Pennsylvania Standard Master Mechanical Contractor.

Pottstown.

Licenses can be obtained through the Department of Economic Development.

Contractor- ICC Required with two levels:

  • Standard Master Mechanical- A/C.
  • Standard Master Mechanical- Heat.

A successfully passed ICC examination is required for both.

Additionally:

  • General Liability Insurance Certificate; the Borough of Pottstown listed as a certificate holder.
  • Workers Compensation Insurance Certificate; the Borough of Pottstown listed as a certificate holder.

Rhode Island

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation.

Available licenses:

Sheet Metal Technician:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the state.
  • Enrollment in the state-approved program.

Journeyperson Class I:

  • Completion of the state-approved apprenticeship program for four years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Journeyperson Class II (Limited):

  • Completion of the state-approved apprenticeship program with 4000 hours/288 classwork hours.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Refrigeration/Air Conditioning Technician:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the state.
  • Enrollment in the state-approved program.

Journeyperson Class I:

  • Completion of the state-approved apprenticeship program with 10,000 hours/five years and 144 classwork hours a year.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Journeyperson Class II (limited):

  • Completion of the on-the-job training of 4000 hours and 288 classwork hours a year in a state-authorized apprenticeship.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Pipefitter:

Apprentice:

  • Registration with the state.
  • Enrollment in the state-approved program.

Journeyperson Class I (Unlimited):

  • Completion of the on-the-job training of 10,000 hours/5 years and 144 classwork hours a year in a state-authorized apprenticeship.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Journeyperson Class II (Limited):

  • Completion of the on-the-job training of 4000 hours and 288 classwork hours in a state-authorized apprenticeship.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation.

Available licenses:

Sheet Metal Master Contractor Class I:

  • Previously held Sheet Metal Journeyperson I license for one year.
  • A successfully passed contractor examination.

Sheet Metal Master Contractor Class II:

  • Previously held Sheet Metal Journeyperson II license for three years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Pipefitter Master Contractor Class I:

  • Previously held Pipefitter Journeyperson I or Pipefitter Master II license for one year.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Pipefitter Master Contractor Class II:

  • Previously held Pipefitter Journeyperson II license for three years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Refrigeration Master Contractor Class I:

  • Previously held Refrigeration Journeyperson I license or Refrigeration Master II license for one year.

Refrigeration Master Contractor Class II:

  • Previously held Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II license for three years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Contractor Master:

Pipefitting:

  • Mechanical Engineer Bachelor of Science degree.
  • Experience for four years in pipefitting.
  • OR
  • Business Administration Bachelor of Science degree.
  • Experience for four years in pipefitting.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Refrigeration:

  • Mechanical Engineer Bachelor of Science degree.
  • Experience for four years in refrigeration/AC.
  • OR
  • Business Administration Bachelor of Science degree.
  • Experience for four years in refrigeration/AC.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Sheet Metal:

  • Mechanical Engineer Bachelor of Science degree.
  • Experience for four years in sheet metal.
  • OR
  • Business Administration Bachelor of Science degree.
  • Experience for four years in sheet metal.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Master Mechanical Contractor:

  • Ten years of work experience as a Rhode Island Licensed Pipefitter Master I.
  • Ten years of work experience as Rhode Island Licensed Refrigeration Master I.
  • The examination isn’t required.

Requirements for all contractors:

  • Workers Compensation insurance.
  • Correct taxation information.
  • Awareness of State and Federal OSHA laws.
  • Awareness of BOCA State Building Code (the International Mechanical Code specifically).

South Carolina

HVAC Technician:

  • No license required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation Residential Builders Commission.

Residential Specialty HVAC License requirements:

  • Minimum of one year of experience in HVAC.
  • Submission of the application with appropriate fees.
  • Original surety bond for $10,000 if the construction cost is more than $5000.
  • No examination required.

South Dakota

HVAC Technician:

  • No license required.

HVAC Contractor:

  • State license isn’t required.

Locally required licensing:

Rapid City.

A license can be obtained through the City of Rapid City Building Inspection Division.

Mechanical Contractor:

  • Experience as a Journeyman in your field for two years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Gas Fitting Contractor:

  • Experience as a Journeyman in the Fuel Gas field for three years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Additional requirements for both types of licensing:

  • Certificate of Excise Tax copy.
  • Certificate of Insurance of General Liability with “City of Rapid City” as a Certificate Holder.
  • Certificate of Insurance of Workman’s Compensation.
  • Appropriately paid fees.

Sioux Falls.

A license can be obtained through the City of Sioux Falls Building Services Department.

Master Mechanical Contractor:

  • Experience in the field for four years.
  • A successfully passed Master Mechanic examination.

Refrigeration Contractor:

  • Experience in the field for four years.
  • A successfully passed Refrigeration examination.

Additional requirements for both types of licensing:

  • Surety bond for $10,000.
  • Appropriately paid fees.

Tennessee

HVAC Technician:

  • No license required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors.

A license is mandatory for projects of $25,000 and higher.

Mechanical Contractor (CMC):

Work experience for three years in each of the following categories for which you wish to obtain a license.

Full CMC:

  • A successfully passed examination required.

Plumbing and Gas Piping (CMC-A):

  • A successfully passed examination required.

Process Piping (CMC-B):

  • No examination required.

HVAC, Refrigeration and Gas Piping (CMC-C):

  • A successfully passed examination required.

Solar HVAC (Geothermal):

  • A successfully passed examination required.

Pneumatic Tube Systems (CMC-G):

  • No examination required.

Boiler Construction & Repairs (CMC-I):

  • No examination required.

Fuel Gas Piping and Systems (CMC-J):

  • No examination required.

Texas

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Texas Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors Advisory Board.

Available licenses:

Registered Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Technician:

  • Registration with the state.
  • Payment of the registration fees.

Certified Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Technician:

  • The successfully passed approved certification examination.

HVAC Contractor:

Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractor:

Class A:

  • Work on AC or refrigeration equipment of any capacity or size.

Class B:

  • Work on the equipment of a cooling capacity of 25 tons or heating capacity of 1.5 million BTUs.

Environmental Air Conditioning Endorsement (E):

  • Allows contracting environmental AC work.

Commercial Refrigeration and Process Cooling or Heating Endorsement (R):

  • Allows contracting commercial AC and refrigerating/cooling or heating work.

Combined Endorsements (C):

License requirements:

Class A:

  • Liability insurance for $300,000 aggregate and $300,000 per occurrence.

Class B:

  • Liability insurance for $100,000 aggregate and $100,000 per occurrence.

For both classes:

  • Practical AC and refrigeration experience for 48 months under a licensed AC/R contractor.
  • Insurance certificate submitted to the state.

Some of this experience can be substituted:

  • 24 months can be substituted by a degree in (one of the options):
    • Air conditioning.
    • Refrigeration engineering.
    • Mechanical engineering.
    • Technology.
  • 12 months can be substituted by a certification program or a two-year degree.
  • 6 months can be substituted by a one-year training or certification program.

Utah

HVAC Technician:

  • No license required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing.

Available licenses:

  • S351 – Refrigerated Air Conditioning Contractor.
  • S352 – Evaporative Cooling Contractor.
  • S353 – Warm Air Heating Contractor.
  • S354 – Radon Mitigation Contractor.

S350 – HVAC Contractor license covers all of the above.

Licensing requirements:

  • Experience for 4000 hours or two years within the last ten years.
  • A successfully passed trade examination.
  • A successfully passed State of Utah Laws and Rules examination.
  • 20 hours of pre-license training OR a construction management degree.
  • A liability coverage – $300,000 aggregate and $100,000 per incident.

Vermont

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Vermont Department of Public Safety.

Required license:

Electrical Specialist (ES) with HVAC-related categories:

  • C3 – Refrigeration and Air Conditioning.
  • A1 – Automatic Gas/Oil Heating.

Requirements (one of the options):

  • HVAC training program approved by the state and 2000 hours or one year of HVAC work experience.
  • 4000 hours or two years of HVAC work experience.

HVAC Contractor:

  • License isn’t required.

Virginia

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation.

The HVAC Tradesman license with the following categories is required:

Apprentice:

  • License not required.
  • An applicant must find a work placement to gain experience.
  • Begin an approved vocational school training.

Journeyman:

To obtain a license, one must complete an apprenticeship in HVAC and pass an examination.

Alternatively, one can take a vocational/college program and gain experience by one of the following paths:

  • Get a Bachelor’s degree in one of the related industries and gain one year of experience.
  • Get an Associate’s degree through an HVAC program and gain two years of experience.
  • Experience for four years plus 240 hours of training in a vocational school.
  • Experience for five years plus 160 hours of training in a vocational school.
  • Experience for six years plus 80 hours of training in a vocational school.
  • Experience for seven or more years plus 40 hours of training in a vocational school.
  • Experience for ten years.

Master:

  • A Journeyman HVAC Tradesman license.
  • Either: experience for one year as a licensed journeyman.
  • Or: Experience in the HVAC trade for ten years.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation.

Available licenses:

HVAC Contractor Class A (no limit on job size):

  • HVAC Tradesman license – Master.
  • Experience for five years.
  • Business capital for $45,000.
  • 8 hours of the approved pre-education program.

HVAC Contractor Class B (job size limit up to $120,000):

  • HVAC Tradesman license – Master.
  • Experience for three years.
  • Business capital for $15,000.
  • 8 hours of the approved pre-education program.

HVAC Contractor Class C (job size limit up to $10,000):

  • HVAC Tradesman license – Master.
  • Experience for two years.
  • 8 hours of the approved pre-education program.

Washington

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries.

Available licenses:

Specialty Electrician HVAC/R:

  • 06A restricted.
  • 06B unrestricted.

The license is divided by the following levels:

Trainee:

  • 16+ years old.
  • Submit an application for a certificate to the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries.
  • Enroll in an apprenticeship program while gaining experience.

Journey-level Electrician:

  • 06A – 4000 work hours as a trainee plus 48 hours of classwork.
  • 06B – 2000 work hours as a trainee plus 24 hours of classwork.

Master Electrician:

  • A license as a Journeyman or electrician of a specialty level.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Locally required licensing:

Seattle.

One of the specialty licenses obtained through the Seattle Department of Construction & Inspections is required:

  • Journey refrigeration mechanic license.

The application should include which refrigerants you want to be licensed in (only ammonia, only Freon, all refrigerants).

  • Refrigeration and air conditioning contractor’s license.
  • Refrigeration operating engineer license.
  • Steam engineer and boiler fireman license.

Requirements for the licenses (refrigeration and gas piping mechanic):

  • Completion of an apprenticeship program or proof of training at an approved HVAC-related school.
  • A successfully passed Seattle’s city-administered exam.

For Boiler licenses, only an examination is required.

Other cities that require local licenses (requirements may differ):

  • Pullman.
  • Kennewick.
  • Yakima.
  • Spokane.
  • Tacoma.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries.

Electrical Contractor license:

  • Submission of a surety bond to the state of Washington.

Local:

In Seattle, a Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Contractor’s License can be obtained through the Seattle Department of Construction & Inspections.

The application should include which refrigerants you want to be licensed in (only ammonia, only Freon, all refrigerants).

West Virginia

HVAC Technician:

A license can be obtained through the West Virginia Department of Commerce Division of Labor and West Virginia Fire Commission Office of the State Fire Marshal.

Required licenses:

Specialty Electrician:

  • Two years or 4000 hours of electrical work in HVAC before the exam.
  • A related training program can be a substitute for one year of work.

Plumber (divided by the following levels):

Plumber in Training:

  • Experience of work under a Master or Journeyman Plumber.
  • An examination isn’t required.

Journeyman Plumber:

  • Experience in plumbing for 8000 hours.
  • A successfully passed examination.

Master Plumber:

  • Experience in plumbing for 12,000 hours.
  • A successfully passed examination.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the West Virginia Department of Commerce Division of Labor.

Contractor Class D – HVAC Classification:

Examinations:

  • Heating, Ventilating & Cooling.
  • Business and Law.

Submit the application and fees with:

  • Secretary of State Certificate of Authority (not for sole proprietorship).
  • Wage Bond (if you have employees).
  • WV Business Registration Tax Number.
  • Federal Taxpayers ID Number.
  • Workers Compensation Policy Number.
  • Unemployment Compensation Number.

Wisconsin

HVAC Technician:

  • Licensing isn’t required.

HVAC Contractor:

A license can be obtained through the Wisconsin Department of Safety & Professional Services.

Both of the following are required:

HVAC Qualifier Certification (one of the following must be met):

  • Experience for 4000 hours or four years in HVAC.
  • Four years of HVAC training.
  • A combination of experience and training plus the HVAC Qualifier examination.

HVAC Contractor Registration:

  • Submitted application.
  • Paid fees.

Wyoming

HVAC Technician:

  • State license isn’t required.

NOTE:

The Wyoming Association of Municipalities offers the Wyoming Trades Certification Program which includes certification program.

Through the program, one can take the International Code Council (ICC) examination.

Passing it can ease a path to a position of an HVAC tech.

By taking an ICC exam, one can qualify in the following categories:

  • Journeyman Gas Pipe Fitter.
  • Refrigeration Journeyman.
  • Journeyman HVAC.
  • Master HVAC.
  • Master Gas Pipe Fitter.
  • Refrigeration Master.

Locally required licensing:

Jackson.

HVAC Certificate of Qualification:

  • The International Code Council examination required.

Apprentice:

  • No experience.

Journeyman:

  • Experience as an Apprentice for four years.

Master:

  • Experience as an Apprentice for four years and as a Journeyman for four years.

HVAC Contractor:

  • No state license required.

Locally required licenses:

Jackson.

HVAC Contractor License:

  • HVAC Certificate of Qualification.
  • Submit an application and pay the fees.
  • Surety bond.
  • Unemployment insurance.
  • Liability insurance.
  • Workman’s compensation.
  • Proof of good standing with State (for corporations or LLC).

Cody.

Class B HVAC Contractor License:

  • A successfully passed ICC’s Master HVAC examination.
  • Experience for four years.
  • Submit an application and pay the fees.
  • Certificate of Liability insurance.
  • Four recommendation letters.
Find a Program