HVAC Tech Classes in Rhode Island (Top Schools)

Search HVACR Certified Technician Programs

Get information on HVACR Certified Technician programs by entering your zip code and request enrollment information.

Sponsored Listings
Rhode Island map

Compared to other states, Rhode Island only has 1,050 HVAC technicians as of May 2021 per the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS).

Despite the low number, these individuals receive one of the highest salary rates across the U.S.

So if you want to be part of the HVAC industry, here’s how you can work as an HVAC technician in Rhode Island.

HVAC Programs in Rhode Island

The HVAC industry, because of its highly technical work, requires its professionals to have education and training.

That’s why many aspirants would enroll in approved HVAC programs to properly learn the trade.

The program will teach you the knowledge and skills in topics such as:

  • Installation, repair, and maintenance of HVAC systems
  • Inspection and troubleshoot issues in the systems
  • Federal, state, and local laws, regulations, and codes
  • And more

The table below lists some of the accredited HVAC schools that you can find in Rhode Island.

3 HVAC Schools in Rhode Island

School NameAddress
Ashworth College6625 The Corners Pkwy NW #500, Norcross, GA 30092
hvacredu.net (Online Training)P.O. Box 77, Heron, MT 59844
New England Institute of Technology2500 Post Road, Warwick, RI 02886

How to Get Licensed in Rhode Island

The state requires HVAC professionals at all levels to get a license.

The RI Department of Labor and Training (DLT) Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety – Professional Regulations Unit will issue the following licenses:

  • Refrigeration/Air Conditioning Technician
    • Apprentice
    • Refrigeration Journeyperson Class I
    • Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II
  • Refrigeration Master Contractor
    • Refrigeration Master Class I
    • Refrigeration Master Class II
  • Contractor Master in Refrigeration
  • Master Mechanical Contractor

Application Requirements for Licensure

Listed in the succeeding sections are the qualifications for each license.

Refrigeration/Air Conditioning Apprentice

You must be…

  • At least 18 years old
  • Enrolled in an approved apprenticeship program, with at least 144 hours of coursework completed every year
  • Trained under the direct supervision of a refrigeration/air conditioning journeyperson or master

To apply, your sponsor must register your name in the Registered Apprenticeship Partners Information Data System (RAPIDS).

Refrigeration Journeyperson Class I

A Refrigeration Journeyperson Class I has no limits when it comes to refrigeration/air conditioning work.

You must have…

  • Completed 10,000 hours or 5 years, with 144 hours of coursework per year, of an approved apprenticeship program
    • Can credit up to 2 years of apprenticeship if you graduated from an RI Department of Labor (DOL)-accredited school
  • Worked under the direct supervision of a refrigeration/air conditioning master

OR

  • Held an out-of-state Refrigeration Journeyperson Class I or equivalent license

To apply for the license, submit the following:

  • Completed and notarized Mechanical Trade License Application form
  • Pay the required fees
    • Application fee – $75
    • License fee – $72
  • Passport-sized photo or a copy of a government-issued ID
  • Notarized statement on company letterhead from present or past employer/s listing your work experience
  • Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship issued by DLT – Apprenticeship Office
  • For out-of-state applicants:
    • Copy of your current, valid Refrigeration Journeyperson Class I or equivalent license
    • Official License Verification from your state
    • If your state doesn’t have such a license or equivalent, submit a notarized resume showing 5 years of experience
  • Successfully pass the exam

Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II

A Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II has limits when it comes to refrigeration/air conditioning work.

You can only install up to…

  • 20 tons of comfort cooling systems
  • 3 tons of product cooling or 1 horsepower freezing

To qualify for the license, you must meet the following:

  • Completed 4,000 hours, with 288 hours of coursework per year, of an approved apprenticeship program
    • Can credit up to 2 years of apprenticeship if you graduated from an RI DOL-accredited school
  • Worked under the direct supervision of a refrigeration/air conditioning master

OR

  • Held an out-of-state Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II or equivalent license

To apply, submit the following:

  • Completed and notarized Mechanical Trade License Application form
  • Pay the required fees
    • Application fee – $75
    • License fee – $60
  • Passport-sized photo or a copy of a government-issued ID
  • Notarized statement on company letterhead from present or past employer/s listing your work experience
  • Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship issued by DOT – Apprenticeship Office
  • For out-of-state applicants:
    • Copy of your current, valid Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II or equivalent license
    • Official License Verification from your state
    • If your state doesn’t have such a license or equivalent, submit a notarized resume showing 5 years of experience
  • Successfully pass the exam

Refrigeration Master Class I

A Refrigeration Master Class I has no limits when it comes to refrigeration/air conditioning work.

To qualify for the license, you must meet one of the following:

  • Holds a 1-year Refrigeration Journeyperson Class I license
  • Holds a 1-year Refrigeration Master Class II license
  • Holds an out-of-state Refrigeration Master Class I or equivalent license

To apply, submit the following:

  • Completed and notarized Mechanical Trade License Application form
  • Pay the required fees
    • Application fee – $75
    • License fee – $240
  • Passport-sized photo or a copy of a government-issued ID
  • Notarized statement on company letterhead from present or past employer/s listing your work experience
  • For out-of-state applicants:
    • Copy of your current, valid Refrigeration Master Class I or equivalent license
    • Official License Verification from your state
    • If your state doesn’t have such a license or equivalent, submit a notarized resume showing 6 years of experience, with 1 year spent as a contractor
  • Successfully pass the licensure exam

Refrigeration Master Class II

A Refrigeration Master Class II has limits when it comes to refrigeration/air conditioning work.

You can only install up to…

  • 20 tons of comfort cooling systems
  • 3 tons of product cooling or 1 horsepower freezing

To qualify for the license, you must meet one of the following:

  • Holds a 3-year Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II license
  • Holds an out-of-state Refrigeration Master Class II or equivalent license

To apply, submit the following:

  • Completed and notarized Mechanical Trade License Application form
  • Pay the required fees
    • Application fee – $75
    • License fee – $96
  • Passport-sized photo or a copy of a government-issued ID
  • Notarized statement on company letterhead from present or past employer/s listing your work experience
  • For out-of-state applicants:
    • Copy of your current, valid Refrigeration Master Class II or equivalent license
    • Official License Verification from your state
    • If your state doesn’t have such a license or equivalent, submit a notarized resume showing 6 years of experience, with 3 years spent as a contractor
  • Successfully pass the exam

Contractor Master in Refrigeration

A Contractor Master in Refrigeration only engages in work on behalf of the entity (sole proprietor, partnership, or corporation) they’re employed with.

To qualify for the license, you must meet one of the following:

  • Has a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering and at least 4 years of refrigeration/air conditioning experience
  • Has a bachelor’s degree in business administration and at least 4 years of refrigeration/air conditioning experience

To apply, submit the following:

  • Completed and notarized Mechanical Trade License Application form
  • Pay the required fees
    • Application fee – $75
    • License fee – $240
  • Passport-sized photo or a copy of a government-issued ID
  • Notarized statement on company letterhead from present or past employer/s listing your work experience
  • Supplemental documents:
    • 2 character references
    • Employer identification number (EIN)
    • Copy of the current worker’s compensation insurance of the entity
    • Copy of the current general liability insurance of the entity
  • Successfully pass the exam

Master Mechanical Contractor

A Master Mechanical Contractor does unlimited heating, cooling, and process work.

To qualify for the license, you must have at least 20 years of combined experience as a contractor:

  • At least 10 years as a Refrigeration Master I
  • At least 10 years as a Pipefitter Master I

To apply, submit the following:

  • Completed and notarized Mechanical Trade License Application form
  • Pay the license fee – $480
  • Passport-sized photo or a copy of a government-issued ID
  • Notarized statement on company letterhead from present or past employer/s listing your work experience

Taking the Licensure Exam

DLT will be the one to administer the exams.

You can sit for the Trade License Exam – Mechanical upon receiving approval to test.

More information about the exam (content outline, exam duration, etc.) will be known after you’ve received an email notice from DLT.

Also, note that the exam slots will be on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Renewal Requirements

Apprenticeship registration will expire after 1 year of issuance.

Meanwhile, all other licenses will expire on your birthday:

  • If you’re born in an odd-numbered year, then on your birthday every odd-numbered year
  • If you’re born in an even-numbered year, then on your birthday every even-numbered year

To renew, you must complete the following:

  • Submit a license renewal application online
  • Pay the renewal fee (same as the license fee)

EPA Certification

If you hope to work with refrigerants, you need to obtain the EPA Section 608 Technician Certification.

It’s a mandatory national certification required by federal law.

It has 4 types, and you can apply for any one of these depending on the equipment you’ll work with.

  • Type I
  • Type II
  • Type III
  • Universal

To find out which type to certify for, check out our guide to the EPA certification.

Potential Salary

As mentioned, HVAC technicians in Rhode Island enjoy one of the highest salary rates in the U.S.

As of May 2021, the BLS reported that one can earn an average of $63,490 annually.

New technicians can have up to $44,610 a year, while HVAC experts can have more than $78,400.

The table below shows the salaries in 10 of the state’s cities that you can use as reference.

Annual Salary Range:
$44K
$63K
$78K

Average Salary of HVAC Techs in Rhode Island

City NameSalary
Providence$49,485
Warwick$49,485
Cranston$49,485
Pawtucket$49,485
East Providence$49,485
Woonsocket$49,438
Coventry$49,392
North Providence$49,485
Cumberland$49,485
West Warwick$49,485
* Salary information last updated 2022

State FlagHVAC Schools by City

Find a Program