HVAC Classes in Vermont (Top Schools)

Vermont map

The state of Vermont does not have a state-level license requirement.

This applies both to the HVAC contractors and to HVAC technicians. However, you do need to be competent.

Here is the information you need about being a HVAC technician in the state of Vermont.

Salary

There is a variety of factors that affect your salary as a HVAC technician.

As a beginner technician you can expect your wage to be about $17 per hour.

As your experience and competence grows you can expect to earn more. Here is a table of salaries you can expect in the ten largest cities in Vermont.

Annual Salary Range:
$40K
$46K
$54K

Average Salaries of Welders in Vermont

City NameSalary
Burlington$46,121
Essex$46,121
Rutland$46,481
Colchester$46,121
South Burlington$46,121
Bennington$47,336
Brattleboro$47,368
Hartford$47,896
Milton$46,093
Barre$45,700
* Salary information last updated 2019

Schools

Although you do not need an official license, and you do not need an official training, we would advise attending one of the official HVAC training programs.

You will acquire both the theoretical and the practical knowledge you need for the job.

If you think schools are not for you at least attend an apprenticeship program.

Here is a list of schools that offer approved HVAC training programs in Vermont:

4 Top HVAC Schools in Vermont

School NameAddress
Ashworth College6625 The Corners Pkwy NW #500, Norcross, GA 30092
Green Mountain Technology & Career CenterBox 600 Rt 15 W, Hyde Park, VT 05655
Barre Technical Center155 Ayers St #2, Barre, VT 05641
HVAC-R Hands-On Trade School, LLCSouth Burlington, VT

Local Requirements

You should always check if there are local requirements that you have to meet.

Local areas may require different things and have different rules.

Therefore, make sure you contact the local offices to get more information.

Montpelier does not require a license.

However, there are permits you need to obtain for every project.

In addition to that, before you seal any part of the project, a state inspection must be run.

EPA Certification

Before you begin working with refrigerants you need to obtain the The Environmental Protection Agency certificate.

That is set forth by the federal law. Anyone who wants to work with refrigerants across all the states needs to have the EPA certificate.

The good news is – EPA certification never expires. Once you have obtained your certificate, it’s valid until the end of your career.

There are three types of certification. The type of certification you should acquire depends on the equipment you want to work with.

You can opt for the Type I, Type II, Type III; or the universal certificate which covers all three types.

If you want to work with air conditioning systems in motor vehicles, you need to have the EPA Section 609 certificate.

Conclusion

You do not need a license in the state of Vermont to become a HVAC technician.

However, you should always check the requirements set by local offices.

Make sure you get the best training, and gain the experience in order to grow as a professional and become a top-earning HVAC technician.

The quality of your service will give you an edge over other technicians.

Top HVAC Programs Around Vermont

[Cannot display listing: You must configure the listing from the admin screen before you can add listings to your page.]
Find a Program