West Virginia has 1,320 employed HVAC technicians as of May 2021 per the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS).
This employment level will continue to increase over the years as more construction projects open and sophisticated HVAC systems get invented.
Not to mention the competitive salary you’ll get as you gain more trade experience.
So if you want to enter the industry, here’s how you can work as an HVAC technician in West Virginia.
- HVAC Programs in West Virginia
- How to Get Licensed in West Virginia
- EPA Certification
- Potential Salary
HVAC Programs in West Virginia
The HVAC industry requires high technical skills and extensive knowledge of the trade from its professionals.
So, before entering, you must have the competencies to…
- Install, repair, and maintain HVAC systems
- Analyze air quality, humidity levels, and temperature control mechanisms
- Understand the fundamentals of heating and refrigeration systems
- Use relevant electronic parts
- Comply with the federal, state, and local laws, regulations, and codes
Fortunately, there are approved HVAC programs where you can get the training and experience to learn the trade.
Listed below are some of the accredited HVAC schools that you can consider in West Virginia.
11 HVAC Schools in West Virginia
|Ashworth College||6625 The Corners Pkwy NW #500, Norcross, GA 30092|
|Academy of Careers and Technology||390 Stanaford Road, Berkley, WV 25801|
|Cabell County Career Technology Center||1035 Norway Avenue, Huntington, WV 25705|
|Carver Career Center||4799 Midland Drive, Charleston, WV 25306|
|hvacredu.net (Online Training)||P.O. Box 77, Heron, MT 59844|
|James Rumsey Technical Institute||3274 Hedgesville Road, Martinsburg, WV 25401|
|Marshall Community and Technical College||One John Marshall Drive, Huntington, WV 25755|
|Mineral County Technical Center||600 Harley Staggers Drive, Keyser, WV 26726|
|Southern West VA Community and Technical College||PO Box 2900, Mount Gay, WV 25637|
|West Virginia Northern Community Center||1704 Market Street, Wheeling, WV 26003|
|West Virginia State University||PO Box 1000, Institute, WV 25112|
How to Get Licensed in West Virginia
In West Virginia, anyone performing HVAC work will need to obtain a state-issued technician certification or contractor license.
Also, you can only obtain a contractor license if you’ll take any of these construction projects:
- Residential project with a total of $5,000 or more
- Commercial project with a total of $25,000 or more
Here are the bodies responsible for the regulation and licensing of the HVAC professionals:
- WV Division of Labor (DOL) for HVAC technicians
- WV Contractor Licensing Board (CLB) for HVAC contractors.
These bodies will issue the following certification and license:
- Technician in Training Certification
- HVAC Technician Certification
- HVAC Residential Certification
- HVAC Contractor License
Application Requirements for Licensure
To obtain your chosen certification or license, you must meet the requirements listed below.
You must have…
- Met the prerequisites
- Technician in Training – must work under the direct supervision of the HVAC technician
- HVAC Technician – at least 2,000 hours of HVAC training, experience, and/or work
- HVAC Residential Technician – N/A
- Successfully passed the required exam (no exam for Technician in Training)
- Completed and notarized the HVAC Technician Certification Application/Affidavit form
- Paid the license fee
- Technician in Training – $25
- HVAC Technician – $75
- HVAC Residential Technician – $60
You must have…
- Contacted and provided CLB with your scope of work to verify the license classification and the required exams
- Successfully passed the required exams (to be taken by you or the qualifier)
- Registered your business with the WV Secretary of State
- Obtained Business Registration Tax Number with the WV State Tax Department
- Provided proof of worker’s compensation and unemployment compensation for all WV-based employees, if applicable
- Obtained a wage bond, if applicable
- Completed and notarized the Contractor Certification Application/Affidavit form
- Paid the license fee -$90
Taking the Licensure Exam
Effective November 1, 2022, DOL and CLB exams will be managed by PSI, Services, LLC.
Until then, ProV, Inc. will continue to administer the exams.
You can sit for the exams upon getting the approval of DOL or CLB.
Here are the exam details:
- You’ll take the following exams
- HVAC Technician
- HVAC Technician – 80 questions in 3 hours
- HVAC Residential Technician – 60 questions in 3 hours
- HVAC Contractor
- WV business and law – 50 questions in 3 hours
- HVAC trade – 80 questions in 3 hours
- HVAC Technician
- Exam fee – $51.95 each
- It will be administered by computer or paper-and-pencil
- It’s an open-book exam where you can use authorized references at the testing center
- Passing rate – 70%
- You have unlimited attempts to successfully pass the exam
Your technician certification or contractor license is only valid for 1 year, with the expiry listed on your card.
To renew, you must submit the following:
- Completed certification or license renewal form
- Renewal fee (same amount as the license fee)
The Environmental Protection Agency requires technicians servicing refrigerant-containing equipment to be certified.
That’s because refrigerants, if not handled properly, can be hazardous to the environment.
The EPA Section 608 Technician Certification has 4 types that you can apply for.
- Type I
- Type II
- Type III
To learn which type to certify for, check out our guide to the EPA certification.
Per BLS, West Virginia has the following salary information for HVAC technicians as of May 2021:
- Annual mean wage – $44,920
- 10th percentile – $29,000
- 90th percentile – $61,980
The table below shows the salaries in 10 of the state’s cities for you to use as reference.Annual Salary Range:
Average Salary of HVAC Techs in West Virginia
|Region||Employed||Avg. Annual Salary||Avg. Hourly Pay||Top 10% Annual Salary||Bottom 10% Annual Salary|
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
This page is also available in Spanish.