When it comes to pursuing a career as a HVAC technician it is important to pay attention to the regulations you have to abide by, and requirements you need to meet.
These things are different for each of the States.
This article will provide you with the information you need to know before becoming a HVAC technician in Massachusetts.
If you are looking for a well-paid job that is steady, and for which there are not many requirements, then a career of a HVAC technician is great for you.
As a HVAAC technician in Massachusetts you can expect a median salary of $56,520.
You can expect to earn $17.16 per hour at the beginning, but as you further your career your potential earnings may add up to $80,530.
Here is a table of salaries in ten largest cities in Massachusetts:Annual Salary Range:
Average Salaries of Welders in Massachusetts
In order to work as a general HVAC technician in Massachusetts, you do not need to have a license.
You can begin working when you finish your education, and you do not need that much hands-on experience.
However, if you wish to do work with refrigerants, then you need to acquire EPA Certification.
According to the law of Massachusetts, you do not need to have a license to work on most residential homes.
On the other hand, if you are working with more than 10 tons of refrigeration, which is usually the case with largest homes, you do need to attain a license.
There are different types of licensure. Contractors and technicians both have to pass written exams to obtain a license.
Apprentices, however, do not need to pass any exams.
To become a refrigeration apprentice, you will need to get your application approved.
After that, you will obtain an apprenticeship license.
The license’s validity date is until your birthday in the second year of the license.
You can renew your license two times.
However, the Bureau of Pipefitters, Refrigeration Technicians and Sprinkler Fitters is the one who decides whether your license can be renewed or not.
Here is what you need to apply for the license:
- Completed application
- Copy of your high school diploma or equivalency certificate
- You must be at least 18 years old
- You must include an approval letter from the Division of Apprentice Training
- Pay a $40 Fee
Upon the completion of your apprenticeship you receive a Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship.
That certificate will be a part of your licensure application documentation together with the EPA Certification (referred to as “CFC Certification” on the Massachusetts application).
Documentations should also include a completed application, as well as proof that you meet the following requirements:
- Documentation of 6000 hours as a Refrigeration Apprentice in Massachusetts and
- Documentation from an approved school of 250 hours in a refrigeration course, made up of 100 hours refrigeration theory and 150 hours of related state electrical code training
There are two more alternatives to the aforementioned two documentation types:
- Documentation of 4000 hours as an apprentice and
- Documentation from an approved school of 500 hours in a refrigeration course, including 250 hours of shop-related work, 100 hours refrigeration theory and 150 hours of related state electrical code training
- Documentation from your employer of 2000 hours as a Massachusetts refrigeration apprentice and
- Documentation from an approved school of 1000 hours in a refrigeration course, including 700 hours of shop-related work, 100 hours of refrigeration theory, and 100 hours of related MA electrical code training
You will also have to pay a $75 application fee.
In case you already hold a license in some other state, you may submit it along with the other documentation as proof that you meet the abovementioned requirements.
If you are a master, or an equivalent you will need documentation that proves your eligibility from your employer as well.
To become a contractor you must already have a technician license.
In addition to that your employee must attest to the fact that you use your license, and have at least 2000 hours of work experience as a technician.
Additional 100 hours on refrigeration theory completed at an approved school is required.
The application fee is $150.
The state will provide you further information on your application, the examination and its date and location, eight weeks after you submit your application.
To prepare for the examination you might want to use these materials: Refrigeration and Air Conditioning, Systems – Form 522 CMR 9.00, Modern Refrigeration/Air Conditioning, ANSI/ASHRAE Standard 15 & 34 – 2013, as well as additional HVAC resources, and the EPA practice tests.
What better way to prepare both for the job itself and the examination than to attend one of the approved HVAC programs at a school that offers it?
They provide a great mix of practical tasks and theory.
Here is a table of schools that offer approved HVAC programs in Massachusetts:
40 Top HVAC Schools in Massachusetts
|Ashworth College||Ashworth College|
|Bay Path Vocational High School||57 Old Muggett Hills Road, Charlton, MA 01507|
|Bay State School of Technology||225 Turnpike Street, Rt 138, Canton, MA 02021|
|Benjamin Franklin Institute of Boston||41 Berkeley St., Boston, MA 02116|
|Blackstone Valley Reg Vocational Tech||65 Pleasant Street, Upton, MA 01568|
|Blue Hills Regional Technical High School||800 Randolph Street, Canton, MA 02021|
|Branford Hall Career Institute||112 Industry Avenue, Springfield, MA 01104|
|Bristol Plymouth Regional Vocational Techncial H.S.||940 County Street, Taunton, MA 02780|
|Cape Cod Technical School||351 Pleasant Lake Avenue, Harwich, MA 02645|
|Diman Regional Technical HS||251 Stonehaven Road, Fall River, MA 02723|
|Franklin County Technical School||82 Industrial Blvd., Turner Falls, MA 01376|
|Gould Construction Institute||One Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803|
|Great Lawerence Regional Technical H.S.||57 River Road, Andover, MA 01810|
|Greater Lowell Technical||250 Pawtuckett Blvd., Tyngsborough, MA 01879|
|Greater New Bedford Reg. Vo-Technical High School||1121 Ashley Blvd., New Bedford, MA 02745|
|hvacredu.net (Online Training)||P.O. Box 77, Heron, MT 59844|
|Leominster Center-Tech Ed||122 Granite Street, Leominster, MA 01453|
|Massassoit Community College||900 Randolph Street, Canton, MA 02021|
|Minuteman Regional HS||758 Marrette Road, Lexington, MA 02173|
|Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical School||1050 Westminster Street, Fitchburg, MA 01420|
|Nashobo Valley Technical High School||100 Littleton Road, Westford, MA 01886|
|NETTTS – HVAC/R Training||1600 Osgood St., North Andover, MA 01845|
|New England Fuel Institute||PO Box 9137, Watertown, MA 02471|
|New England Institute of HVAC||240 Smith St, Lowell, MA 01851|
|North Shore Community College||1 Ferncroft Road, Danvers, MA 01923|
|Northeast Metro Tech||100 Hemlock Road, Wakefield, MA 01880|
|Old Colony Trade & Technical School||244 Liberty Street, Brockton, MI 02303|
|Pathfinder Regional Vo Tech High School||240 Sykes Road, Palmer, MA 01069|
|Peterson School||25 Montvale, Woburn, MA 01801|
|Peterson Schools||350 University Avenue, Westwood, MA 02090|
|Porter and Chester Institute||134 Dulong Circle, Chicopee, MA 01020|
|Porter and Chester Institute||129 Flanders Road, Westborough, MA 01581|
|Quincy College||34 Coddington Street, Quincy, MA 02169|
|RETS Technical Center||570 Rutherford Avenue, Charlestown, MA 02129|
|RETS Technical Center||555 E. Alex Bell Road, Centerville, OH 45459|
|Shawsheen Valley Technical||100 Cook Street, Billerica, MA 01821|
|Southshore Vocational Technical H.S.||476 Webster Street, Hanover, MA 02339|
|Springfield Technical Community College||One Armory Square, Springfield, MA 01102|
|Tri County Vocational School||147 Pond Street, Franklin, MA 02038|
|Whittier Regional Vo-Technical||115 Amesbury Line Road, Haverhill, MA 01830|
The Environmental Protection Agency requires that any technician planning to work with refrigerants must have refrigerant recovery and recycling certification.
This is set forth by Section 608 Refrigeration Recycling Rule.
There are different types of certification: Type I, II, and III.
Once you acquire EPA certification, you will be certified for life.
Through acquiring EPA certification you have proof that you know everything about environmental protection when working with hazardous materials.
EPA Section 608 HVAC Type I allows you to work on small appliances containing five pounds of less of refrigerant.
While EPA Section 608 HVAC Type II allows you to work on high- and very high-pressure appliances, including non-automotive systems and split systems.
Finally, the EPA Section 608 HVAC Type III allows you to work on low-pressure appliances.
There is a high demand for HVAC technicians, especially in Massachusetts.
It is expected to rise by 19% through 2024.
The pay for HVAC technicians is also above the national average.
If you hope to be a top-earning HVAC technician, be careful to look through the requirements dealing with refrigerants.
You’d be best advised to either start an apprenticeship, or complete an official HVAC program that will document your experience and make sure you have the knowledge you need.