Nevada’s climate makes it a perfect place to become a HVAC technician.
The hot days and chilly nights made for a high demand for HVAC technicians and contractors.
In the state of Nevada you do not need a special license in order to do work as a HVAC technician, but you may want to consider becoming a HVAC contractor to increase your salary.
Here is all you need to know about becoming a HVAC technician.
The salary of a HVAC technician varies.
The factors that make the difference between the highest earning HVAC technician and the lowest-earning HVAC technician are their skills, knowledge, experience, and education.
A median wage is $26 per hour, and a median yearly salary can be $54,550.
Here is a table of salaries you can expect in the ten largest cities in Nevada:Annual Salary Range:
Average Salaries of Welders in Nevada
|North Las Vegas||$48,597|
In order to work as a HVAC contractor you will need to take an exam and obtain a license.
The license is renewed biennially. In Nevada this license will grant you permission to work as a c-21 contractor in the following lines of the trade:
- Refrigeration (C-21a)
- Air-Conditioning (C-21b)
- Sheet Metal (C-21c)
- Maintenance (C-21d)
- Solar Air-Conditioning (C-21e)
- Chilled Water (C-21f)
- Piping for Hot Water (C-21g)
Before being able to take the exam and make an attempt at acquiring a license there are certain requirements you have to meet.
Those requirements are:
- 4 documented years of experience within the past 10 years as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, or contractor
- Relevant Education can be added as a maximum of 3 years of hands-on experience
- 4 reference certificates which prove their work experience
- You need to pass a background check
- You must submit current financial statements to the licensing board to be reviewed and audited by a CPA
- The cost of the licensing and examination fees is $600.
- You need to acquire a bond in an amount determined by the board, based on license type.
- If your financial limit is less than $1,000,000 the statement must be compiled, reviewed or audited by a CPA, self-prepared on a form provided by the Board, or using accounting software and accompanied by an affidavit.
If you are over $1,000,000 or more, the financial statement must be reviewed and audited by a CPA.
If you have a minimum of 7 years’ experience and hold a license in Nevada, your license will be valid in California, Arizona, and Utah.
You will need to meet all the licensing requirements as well.
The exams are administered by the PSI Licensure Certification.
Once your application has been approved, you will need to schedule and take your exam.
If you hope to become a C-21 contractor you will need to pass both your trade exam and the Business and Law exam.
In case you fail the exam three times in a row, you will need to go through the whole application process again before scheduling your fourth attempt.
The exam itself is open-book type of an exam. In order to pass the exam you will need to have 70% of correct answers.
The exam contains 85 questions that you should complete within the 3-hour time frame.
The fee for a single exam is $85, whereas the fee for one trade exam plus the contractor management survey exam is $130.
The test covers these topics:
- Piping Insulation Hangers and Supports Sound
- Vibration and Seismic Control, Heating and Cooling Principles, Refrigerants and Refrigeration Load Calculations, Testing
- Adjusting and Balancing Controls, Machine Room A/C
- Heat Pump Equipment; Furnaces and Heaters; Hydronics; Chimneys, Flues and Vents
- Combustion Air; Fuel Systems; Ducts; Evaporative Cooling; Chillers; Solar Ventilation; and Exhausts Safety
To better prepare for your examination, as well as gain valuable experience and knowledge you should consider completing relevant education.
These approved HVAC training programs are a perfect ratio of theory and practice.
Here is a table of schools that have an official approved HVAC training program:
9 Top HVAC Schools in Nevada
|Ashworth College||6625 The Corners Pkwy NW #500, Norcross, GA 30092|
|Air Conditioning Technical Institute||3970 Las Vegas Blvd. North, Suite B-9, Las Vegas, NV 89115|
|College of Southern Nevada||700 College Drive, Henderson, NV 89015|
|hvacredu.net (Online Training)||P.O. Box 77, Heron, MT 59844|
|National Technical Institute||301 Sunpac Court, Henderson, NV 89015|
|Quality Technical Training Center||4625 S. Procyon Ave, Suite A, Las Vegas, NV 89103|
|Southern Nevada Vocational Technical Center||5710 Mountain Vista, Las Vegas, NV 11111|
|Truckee Meadows Community College-Technical Inst.||7000 Dandini Blvd. Room 334, Reno, NV 89512|
|Western Nevada Community College/Carson City Campus||2201 W. College Parkway, Carson City, NV 89703|
In order to deal with hazardous refrigerants you have to obtain the EPA Section 608 Certification.
This is a requirement in every state in the U.S. Companies and HVAC contractors are always on the look out to employ HVAC technicians with EPA Certification as that allows them to deal with dangerous refrigerants.
Contractors should also have the EPA certificate.
There are three different levels of certification – Type I, Type II, and Type III.
While it is not a must to have a license in order to be a HVAC technician in Nevada, it is a good idea to obtain one.
Not only will your salary be higher, but you will also be able to become a contractor and start your own business with a few extra requirements.
Once you do have a license you can also apply for jobs that are in the scope of the reciprocity of your license.