Mississippi has a developing HVAC industry, with its high demands for HVAC technicians.
In fact, the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) reported that there had been 2,230 employed as of May 2021.
This number will increase over the years due to the new construction projects in the residential and commercial sectors.
So if you’re interested, here’s how you can work as an HVAC professional in Mississippi.
HVAC Programs in Mississippi
The HVAC industry has high demands for its professionals.
To work here, you must be able to…
- Install, repair, and maintain HVAC systems
- Know the federal, state, and local laws, regulations, and codes
- Read blueprints and implement them
- Inspect for and troubleshoot issues in the systems
- And more
That’s why most would choose to enroll in an approved HVAC program in order to learn the trade.
The table below lists some of the accredited HVAC schools in Mississippi that you can consider.
17 HVAC Schools in Mississippi
|Ashworth College||6625 The Corners Pkwy NW #500, Norcross, GA 30092|
|Copiah Lincoln Community College-Natchez||11 Co-Lin Circle, Natchez, MS 39120|
|Copiah Lincoln Community College-Wesson||PO Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191|
|Delta Technical College||1090 Main Street, Southaven, MS 38671|
|East Central Community College||PO Box 129, Decatur, MS 39327|
|Hinds Community College||505 E. Main Street, Raymond, MS 39154|
|Holmes Community College||PO Box 399, Goodman, MS 39079|
|hvacredu.net (Online Training)||P.O. Box 77, Heron, MT 59844|
|Itawamba Community College-Tupelo Campus||2176 S. Eason Blvd., Tupelo, MS 38804|
|Jones County Junior College||900 S. Court Street, Ellisville, MS 39437|
|Meridian Community College||910 Hwy 19N, Meridian, MS 39307|
|Mississippi Delta Community College||Hwy 3 & Cherry Street, Moorhead, MS 38761|
|Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College||2226 Switzer Road, Gulfport, MS 39507|
|Northeast Mississippi Community College||101 Cunningham, Booneville, MS 38829|
|Northwest Mississippi Community College||4975 Hwy 51 N, Senatobia, MS 38668|
|Pearl River Community College||101 Hwy 11 North, Poplarville, MS 39470|
|Southwest Miss. Community College||2000 College Drive, Summit, MS 39666|
How to Get Licensed in Mississippi
Mississippi doesn’t require its HVAC technicians to have state-level licenses, but rather its contractors.
The Mississippi State Board of Contractors (MSBOC) will issue licenses under one major and several specialty classifications related to HVAC.
- Major classification – allows you to perform the trade in multiple specialty classifications
- Mechanical Contractor License
- Specialty classification – allows you to perform work in one or more specific trades
- Heat, AC, ventilation (HVAC)
- Ductwork for HVAC
- Boiler installation and repair
- Fueling systems
- Process piping
- Insulation – pipes and ductwork
Do note that you’ll only need a contractor’s license if you’ve taken one of the following:
- Construction projects over $50,000
- Improvement projects over $10,000
If you do, you can apply for either of these types for the contractor’s license:
- Residential to get the Residential License
- Commercial to get the Commercial Certificate of Responsibility
Application Requirements for Licensure
To obtain the license, you must meet the following:
- Determine which type of contractor’s license and license classification to apply for
- Completed and notarized applicable license application form
- Pay the license application fee (per classification)
- Residential – $50
- Commercial – $400
- If an entity, business registration with the MS Secretary of State and proof of good standing
- Obtain a Tax ID number from the MS Department of Revenue
- If sole proprietor – Social Security Number
- If entity – MS Income Tax I.D. Number or Federal Tax I.D. Number
- MS Sales Tax Number or Use Tax Number
- MS Income Tax I.D. Number or Federal Tax I.D. Number
- Provide a certificate of general liability insurance with the following coverage:
- $300,000 per occurrence
- $600,000 aggregate
- Provide worker’s compensation insurance if you have 5 or more employees
- Provide 3 reference letters
- 1 from the bank
- 2 from anyone you worked with/for construction-related projects
- Proof of experience in at least 3 jobs completed in the chosen license classification
- Proof of employment of the Qualifying Party (QP) who’ll take the exam
- (Commercial only) Audited financial statements reviewed and signed by a CPA within the last 12 months
- Must show the following net worth
- Major classification – at least $50,000
- Specialty classification – at least $20,000
- Must show the following net worth
- Successfully pass the licensure exam for the chosen classification
Taking the Licensure Exam
MSBOC contracted with PSI to administer the contractor licensure exams.
Your assigned QP will sit for the exam after getting approval from MSBOC, with an eligibility period of 6 months.
Here are the exam details:
- You’ll take 2 exam portions
- MS law and business management – 50 questions in 2 hours
- Trade, if required
- Mechanical contractor – 100 questions in 4 hours
- Heat, AC, ventilation (HVAC) – 80 questions in 4 hours
- Refrigeration – 50 questions in 2 hours
- Ductwork for HVAC – 60 questions in 2 hours
- Boiler installation and repair – 50 questions in 2 hours
- Fueling systems – 50 questions in 2 hours
- Process piping – 50 questions in 2 hours
- Insulation – pipes and ductwork – 30 questions in 1 hour
- Exam fee – $120 per exam portion
- You’ll take the exam via computer
- It will be an open-book exam where you can use authorized reference materials at the testing center
- Passing score is 70%
- You have unlimited attempts within the eligibility period to successfully pass the exams
Your license is only valid for a year.
To renew, you must complete the following:
- Completed renewal form via online application or mail to MSBOC
- Payment of the applicable renewal fee
- Residential – $100
- Commercial – $400
- Provide the following documents:
- General liability insurance
- Proof of good standing with the MS Secretary of State (for entities only)
- Worker’s compensation insurance, if applicable
- (Residential only) Proof of the QP’s completion of 2 hours of continuing education from an approved course
- (Commercial only) Balance sheet showing a net worth of $50,000 for major classification or $20,000 for specialty classification
According to the Clean Air Act, you have to obtain the EPA Section 608 Technician Certification to carry out work with refrigerant-containing equipment.
To obtain it, you have to successfully pass the exam for the certification type you chose.
For more comprehensive information, check out our guide to the EPA certification.
HVAC technicians enjoy competitive salaries in the U.S.
In Mississippi, you can earn an average of $42,690 annually as of May 2021 per BLS.
If you’re new, expect to receive up to $29,590 a year.
Then, once you’ve gained sufficient trade expertise, you can earn more than $59,180.
The table below shows the salaries in 10 of the state’s cities that you can use for reference.Annual Salary Range:
Average Salary of HVAC Techs in Mississippi
|Region||Employed||Avg. Annual Salary||Avg. Hourly Pay||Top 10% Annual Salary||Bottom 10% Annual Salary|
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
HVAC Schools by City
This page is also available in Spanish.